ALBUM REVIEW : Nathan Connolly – The Strange Order Of Things

The Strange Order Of Things” is a solo album by Nathan Connolly, the guitarist of rock band Snow Patrol. Released in late 2021, the album is a collection of introspective and emotional songs that showcase Connolly’s songwriting ability and musical versatility.

One standout track on the album is “Ghost,” which features guest vocals from Irish singer-songwriter Ailbhe Reddy. The haunting vocals and melancholic instrumentation create a sense of longing and loss that is both beautiful and heartbreaking. Another standout track is “Heart of Stone,” a stripped-down ballad that showcases Connolly’s raw, soulful voice.

“We,” “This Life’s Light,” and “Love Like Wildfire” are mid-tempo tracks that showcase Connolly’s lyrical prowess and ability to craft catchy melodies. These songs are both emotionally resonant and musically engaging, with dynamic arrangements that keep the listener engaged from start to finish.

“This Is All That I Don’t Feel” and “The Last Time” are more upbeat tracks that feature driving rhythms and infectious hooks. These songs are perfect for blasting in the car with the windows down, and they showcase Connolly’s ability to write infectious rock songs that stick in your head.

“Waves,” “Fires” (featuring Biffy Clyro’s Simon Neil), and “Night Songs” are atmospheric tracks that showcase Connolly’s more experimental side. These songs feature ethereal instrumentation, haunting vocals, and dreamy atmospheres that transport the listener to another world.

Overall, “The Strange Order Of Things” is a fantastic debut solo album from Nathan Connolly. Fans of Snow Patrol will find much to love here, as will anyone who appreciates well-crafted, emotionally resonant rock songs. Highly recommended.

Author: James Edmond

Leave a Reply