Anglo-Scottish psych-folk duo SNOWGOOSE release title track of forthcoming album ‘THE MAKING OF YOU’ today, featuring array of Scottish indie pop royalty

Photo © Brian Sweeney 2020

Anglo-Scottish duo Snowgoose have today released the title track from their forthcoming second album ‘The Making of You’, released June 26 on Glass Modern Records on DL, CD and limited orange vinyl LP.

The long-awaited follow-up to their acclaimed 2012 debut, ‘Harmony Springs’, ‘The Making Of You’ sees Snowgoose – guitarist Jim McCulloch (Soup Dragons, Isobel Campbell & Mark Lanegan) and singer Anna Sheard – supported by a who’s who of Scottish pop music, including members of Belle & Sebastian and Teenage Fanclub.

On the title track Anna & Jim are accompanied by Raymond McGinley (Teenage Fanclub) on guitar, Dave McGowan (Belle & Sebastian/Teenage Fanclub) on bass, Stuart Kidd (The Wellgreen/Euros Childs/Jonny/BMX Bandits) on drums/percussion and Tim Davidson (Camera Obscura/Traceyanne & Danny/Alasdair Roberts & Friends) on lap steel. The song was recorded at Gorbals Sounds studio in Glasgow with finishing touches added at McGinley’s home studio.

The Making Of You is multi-layered and quite cinematic,” comments McCulloch of the track. “A big influence is Giovanni’s soundtrack to The Wicker Man, an occult horror movie classic from 1973. There’s a sense of dread and unease that permeates the music and I was trying to recreate something similar. Stellar work from the whole cast of musicians.”

“This song was a definite highlight for me within the recording process, an exploration of the lowest and highest register of my voice, an expression of darkness and light in weaving those emotive layers of sound,” adds Anna.

“I still profoundly remember listening back to the track in Gorbals Sound; it provoked a feeling of elation which stirred and informed a shift in direction for the new body of work. I recall a glance and an excited smile between myself and Jim, a wordless acknowledgement that ‘The Making of You’ would set the tone for further writing together.”

‘The Making Of You’ is the second track to be taken from the new album following lead single ‘Hope’, which is backed by a cover of Judee Sill’s ‘Lady O’. Listen here or watch the video for ‘Hope’ here.

Shortly before the current lockdown, Snowgoose recorded a prestigious Quay Session for BBC Radio Scotland. Listen to their beautiful acoustic rendition of ‘The Making Of You’ here.

Tracing a line through 60s West Coast psychedelia and early 70s folk-rock, ‘The Making Of You’ is an album that transcends its influences to assert itself as modern and forward thinking. While their debut was largely written by former Soup Dragons guitarist Jim, the new songs see Anna step forward as a lyricist and melodist. The result of this collaboration between the pair is a record of rare beauty, one moment intimate, the next utterly exuberant.

Novelist Ian Rankin, who declared Snowgoose’s debut one of the best albums of 2012, says, “I was a huge fan of the first Snowgoose album and I’m equally excited by the follow-up. Such warmth and emotion, with great performances by the musicians and singer Anna Sheard. Fairport Convention, the Incredible String Band, Pentangle and more come to mind, but Snowgoose add lyricism and delicacy of their own.”

Del Amitri frontman Justin Currie adds, “Jim McCulloch and Anna Sheard, with their troupe of Scottish alternative pop royalty, have made the kind of record that saved the easy listening genre in the early Seventies. Think Sandy Denny crashing into a Jimmy Webb session armed with delicate West Coast melodies and a little bag of very modern anxiety.”


  1. Everything
  2. Who Will You Choose
  3. Hope
  4. The Making Of You
  5. Counting Time
  6. Golden Wing
  7. Leonard
  8. Deserted Forest
  9. The Optimist
  10. Undertow
  11. Gave Up Without a Sound



Anna Sheard – vocals

Jim McCulloch (Soup Dragons/Isobel Campbell & Mark Lanegan) – guitars/vocals/melodica/percussion


Raymond McGinley (Teenage Fanclub) – guitars

Dave McGowan (Belle & Sebastian/Teenage Fanclub) – bass

Stevie Jones (Sound of Yell/El Hombre Trajeado/Arab Strap/RM Hubbert) – bass/double bass

Stuart Kidd (The Wellgreen/Euros Childs/Jonny/BMX Bandits) – drums/vocals/percussion

Chris Geddes (Belle & Sebastian) – keyboards

Ken McCluskey (The Bluebells) – harmonica

Tim Davidson (Camera Obscura/Traceyanne & Danny/Alasdair Roberts & Friends) – lap steel

Davie Scott (The Pearlfishers) – string arrangements


Leave a Reply