Album Review : Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds – Council Skies

3518Photo credit Matt Crockett 2023

Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds have returned with an album that is sure to captivate fans and critics alike. This release is filled with passion and showcases Noel’s unique lyrical style that takes listeners on a beautiful journey through his mind. It is the album that fans have been eagerly anticipating from the Manchester legend, and it is sure to stand the test of time alongside other great albums like Stanley Road and Joshua Tree.

The album features five singles that have been released, including “Pretty Boy,” “Council Skies,” “Dead to the World,” and “Easy Now,” as well as the new single featuring Johnny Marr, “Open The Door, See What You Find.” Throughout these singles, it becomes clear that Noel’s style is adventurous and his vocal range is simply marvellous. Each track adds something new and exciting to the album, making it a truly immersive listening experience.

Without a doubt, this album is the best of Noel’s solo releases and is truly the album of the year. The five singles he released prior to the album’s launch only scratch the surface of what’s in store for listeners. The opening track, “I’m Not Giving Up Tonight,” is the perfect start to the album as it sets the tone for the journey ahead with Noel Gallagher.

Some of the standout tracks on the album are “There She Blows” and “Think of a Number,” both of which are sure to hook listeners from the first listen. This is not just an album for Oasis or Noel Gallagher fans, but a classic album that will be remembered as one of the greatest of all time.

The album cover pays tribute to Manchester and Noel’s beloved football club, featuring the band lined up on a roundabout that was once the centre circle of the football pitch at the old Main Road stadium. This attention to detail is just one of the many reasons why Noel Gallagher is a true legend in the music industry.

Fans can look forward to hearing these tracks live on the forthcoming tour later this year. In conclusion, this album is a must-have for any music lover and is sure to become a timeless classic in the years to come.

Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds UK & Irish Summer Shows:

21 July                         Penn Street, Buckinghamshire – PennFest (HEADLINE)

23 July                         Nottingham – Splendour In The Park (HEADLINE)

28 July                         London Crystal Palace Bowl – South Facing Festival (SOLD OUT)

30 July                         Brighton – On The Beach (SOLD OUT)

4 August                      Bingley Weekender (HEADLINE)

5 August                      Saffron Walden – Audley End House & Gardens (SOLD OUT)

19 August                     Monmouthshire – Caldicot Castle (SOLD OUT)

20 August                     Co. Durham – Hardwick Festival (HEADLINE)

24 August                     Taunton Vivary Park

26 August                     Manchester Wythenshawe Park

27 August                     Dublin Royal Hospital Kilmainham

30 August                     Hull Bonus Arena (SOLD OUT)

1 September                Sheffield Don Valley Bowl – Rock’N’Roll Circus (HEADLINE)


Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds 2023 UK Arena Tour Dates:

14 December                London OVO Arena Wembley

15 December                Birmingham Utilita Arena

17 December                Cardiff International Arena

18 December                Leeds First Direct Arena

20 December                Glasgow OVO Hydro

21 December                Liverpool M&S Bank Arena


Review by James Edmond 

Author: James Edmond

Leave a Reply