ALBUM REVIEW : Bleachers – Bleachers

The Bleachers, led by the talented Jack Antonoff, make a triumphant return with their fourth studio album. Aptly titled, the self-titled album is a gem that captivates listeners from the very first notes of the opening song, “I Am Right On Time,” to the final track, “Ordinary Heaven.” Throughout the album, Antonoff takes us on a whirlwind journey of songs that delve into various life situations and themes of love. With its introspective lyrics and infectious melodies, this album is a testament to The Bleachers’ prowess as storytellers and musicians.

Jack Antonoff is a highly acclaimed artist and producer who has collaborated with some of the biggest names in the industry, including The 1975, Taylor Swift, Lorde, and Lana Del Rey. His immense talent and dedication to his craft have earned him eight Grammy Awards, solidifying his status as a music industry powerhouse. Not only is Antonoff successful in his collaborations, but his own band also enjoys a massive fan base and consistently sells out venues worldwide. Their latest album, which showcases Antonoff’s exceptional production skills and his band’s captivating sound, stands proudly as their most accomplished work yet.

The album opens with the excellent track “I Am Right On Time,” which immediately takes listeners on a nostalgic journey with its 80’s feel, filled with big synth notes and a beautiful build-up. It serves as the perfect start to the album, setting the tone and atmosphere. This is followed by the single “Modern Girl,” which stands out with its high energy, featuring a saxophone and amped-up guitars. The album then takes a slightly more stripped-back approach with “Jesus Is Dead,” showcasing the band’s powerful lyrics before transitioning into “Me Before You,” where they explore new depths in their style, demonstrating the strengths of their music.

Alma Mater,” the recent single from Antonoff, serves as a turning point in the album, showcasing his incredible vocal prowess that seamlessly blends with the dark undertones of his music. However, it is “Tiny Moves” that truly stands out on the album, with its infectious hooks and undeniable pop brilliance. “Isimo” is a classic pop song that takes a sharp turn, allowing Antonoff’s darker side to echo through. Meanwhile, “Woke Up Today” is a hauntingly beautiful track that will leave a lasting impression, thanks to the mesmerising layering of Antonoff’s vocals over the mystical acoustic guitar. Lastly, “Self Respect” boldly stands out on the album, prompting introspection into one’s own life and serving as a reminder of our identity while also posing thought-provoking questions about specific moments in pop music history.

The album, with its closing trio of songs, showcases the immense talent of Antonoff. “Call Me After Midnight” captivates listeners with its stunning lyrics and powerful vocals, accompanied by a deeply resonating melody that gradually grows on you. “We Are Going To Know Each Other Forever” is a poignant ode to love, while “Ordinary Heaven” and “The Waiter” beautifully round off this masterpiece. This album is a true embodiment of Antonoff’s passion, emotions, and imagination, making it a must-have addition to any record collection. After just one listen, you will become instantly hooked, yearning to unravel the deeper meanings behind each track. The album, a pure masterpiece of 2024, invites exploration and full savoring.


  1. I Am Right On Time
  2. Modern Girl
  3. Jesus Is Dead
  4. Me Before You
  5. Alma Mater
  6. Tiny Moves
  7. Isimo
  8. Woke Up Today
  9. Self Respect
  10. Hey Joe
  11. Call Me After Midnight
  12. We’re Gonna Know Each Other Forever
  13. Ordinary Heaven
  14. The Waiter


Bleachers return with their self titled new album, released on 8th March 2024 via Dirty Hit.


Leave a Reply