SNOWGOOSE release new single “WHO WILL YOU CHOOSE” today – track features members of Teenage Fanclub + Belle And Sebastian



“Scottish indie royalty convene for an album that blends Pentangle’s limber folk-funk

with the crystalline guitar pop of 10,000 Maniacs” (Uncut)

‘Who Will You Choose’ is the new single from Snowgoose, available today (May 1st) on Glass Modern Records.

Accompanied by a suitably atmospheric video and backed by ‘Tavira Tyde’, a song exclusive to this single release, ‘Who Will You Choose’ is the second single to be taken from the Anglo-Scottish duo’s second album ‘The Making of You’, out June 26th via Glass Modern Records on DL, CD & limited orange vinyl LP formats.

The long-awaited follow-up to their acclaimed 2012 debut, ‘Harmony Springs’, ‘The Making Of You’ sees Snowgoose – guitarist Jim McCulloch (Soup Dragons, Isobel Campbell & Mark Lanegan) and singer Anna Sheard – supported by a who’s who of Scottish indie music, including members of Belle & Sebastian and Teenage Fanclub.

On ‘Who Will You Choose’ Anna & Jim are joined by Raymond McGinley (Teenage Fanclub) on guitar,

Dave McGowan (Belle & Sebastian/Teenage Fanclub) on bass, Stuart Kidd (The Wellgreen/Euros Childs/Jonny/BMX Bandits) on drums/backing vocals/percussion and Chris Geddes (Belle & Sebastian) on keyboards.

“Who Will You Choose is an extraordinary track; full of unexpected melodic twists and choral builds,” comments Jim. “It ebbs and flows with a cinematic scope which can take your breath away. The power of three and four-part harmonies in excelsis. There`s a darkness just under the surface and the sweetness just turned weird and spooky”.

 “This is such a satisfying song to perform,” adds Anna. “I love the shift from the stillness within the linear verse to the texture and movement of the chorus when the retro-inspired harmonies kick in. Experimenting with and recording those harmonies at Raymond’s home studio with Jim and Stuart was a giggle and it was a delight to listen back to the track with its final sprinkling of magic.”

The exquisitely delicate B side, ‘Tavira Tyde,’ is exclusive to this single release and does not appear on the album.

‘Who Will You Choose’ follows lead single ‘Hope’, which came backed by a cover of Judee Sill’s ‘Lady O’. Listen here or watch the video for ‘Hope’ here. Shortly before the current lockdown, Snowgoose recorded a prestigious Quay Session for BBC Radio Scotland. Listen to their beautiful acoustic rendition of album title track the ‘The Making Of You’ here.

Tracing a line through ‘60s West Coast psychedelia and early ‘70s folk-rock, ‘The Making Of You’ is an album that transcends its influences to assert itself as modern and forward-thinking. While their debut was largely written by former Soup Dragons guitarist Jim, the new songs see Anna step forward as a lyricist and melodist. The result of this collaboration between the pair is a record of rare beauty – one moment intimate, the next utterly exuberant.

Novelist Ian Rankin, who declared Snowgoose’s debut one of the best albums of 2012, says, “I was a huge fan of the first Snowgoose album and I’m equally excited by the follow-up. Such warmth and emotion, with great performances by the musicians and singer Anna Sheard. Fairport Convention, The Incredible String Band, Pentangle and more come to mind, but Snowgoose add lyricism and delicacy of their own.”

Del Amitri frontman Justin Currie adds, “Jim McCulloch and Anna Sheard, with their troupe of Scottish alternative pop royalty, have made the kind of record that saved the easy listening genre in the early Seventies. Think Sandy Denny crashing into a Jimmy Webb session armed with delicate West Coast melodies and a little bag of very modern anxiety.”



01 Everything

02 Who Will You Choose

03 Hope

04 The Making Of You

05 Counting Time

06 Golden Wing

07 Leonard

08 Deserted Forest

09 The Optimist

10 Undertow

11 Gave Up Without a Sound





Anna Sheard – vocals

Jim McCulloch (Soup Dragons/Isobel Campbell & Mark Lanegan) – guitars/vocals/melodica/percussion




Raymond McGinley (Teenage Fanclub) – guitars

Dave McGowan (Belle & Sebastian/Teenage Fanclub) – bass

Stevie Jones (Sound of Yell/El Hombre Trajeado/Arab Strap/RM Hubbert) – bass/double bass

Stuart Kidd (The Wellgreen/Euros Childs/Jonny/BMX Bandits) – drums/vocals/percussion

Chris Geddes (Belle & Sebastian) – keyboards

Ken McCluskey (The Bluebells) – harmonica

Tim Davidson (Camera Obscura/Traceyanne & Danny/Alasdair Roberts & Friends) – lap steel

Davie Scott (The Pearlfishers) – string arrangements

Leave a Reply