PICTURESQUE announce album details & release new single ‘ATTN:’

Do You Feel O.K? out 24th April 2020 via
Rude Records/Equal Vision Records 

PICTURESQUE have announced their sophomore album Do You Feel O.K?, due for release on 24th April 2020 via Rude Records/Equal Vision Records. For fans of Sleeping With SirensIssues and Normandie, the quartet have also released their new single ‘ATTN:’. 

Pre-order Do You Feel O.K? here:

We write a lot of sad songs, but we wanted this one to be different,” the band shares. “It’s a song where Kyle is in control of the narrative. We wanted it to have a strong groove and to make it as catchy as possible. We experimented with a lot of different sounds on this song and finally convinced Dylan to lay down an epic solo.
They continue: “We are just trying to push the boundaries of what Picturesque can be. Our writing sessions have no rules and we wanted to show that side of us. This song is carefree, fun, and a side we don’t normally show.

Kentucky natives PICTURESQUE are a band intent on doing things differently. Born out of a post-hardcore scene that’s often characterised more by aggression than accessibility, the five-piece steadfastly refuse to be boxed or pigeonholed, and they’re set on embracing musical tropes not traditionally associated with heavy music.
There was certainly a good deal of excitement when PICTURESQUE burst onto the scene with debut full-length Back To Beautiful in 2017. It was an album that introduced the band’s unique approach to songwriting and blend of heavy rock with pop sensibility, whilst it also showcased the star quality of frontman Hollis, whose impressive vocal range and melodic delivery enhanced the potency of Back To Beautiful’s songs. Three years on and following successful tours with Escape The FateSilverstein and Tonight AlivePICTURESQUE are back with new album Do You Feel O.K?. But whilst their distinctive musical approach remains, as vocalist Kyle Hollis outlines, there’s much about this album that’s very different to what’s come before.

The first record was our take on 2009 post-hardcore, whereas this album is something new, and it’s a style of music I’ve not heard anyone else make,” he states. “Approaching Do You Feel O.K?, we reached a point where we just thought, ‘Fuck it, we’re not going to box ourselves in––we’re going to focus on writing killer songs, no matter what they sound like.’ You can hear that attitude throughout the record.
He’s not wrong. Do You Feel O.K? radiates with a carpe-diem approach to songwriting fuelled by its creators’ desire to bring something new to the table. Combining Hollis and guitarist Zach Williamson’s love of Post Malone and Blackbear with fellow shredder Dylan Forrester’s metallic edge, songs like opening track ‘Necessary’ and the melody-driven ‘ATTN:’ are modern rock epics that pay tribute to the PICTURESQUE‘s post-hardcore roots, all the while showcasing a joyous eclecticism and fondness for more mainstream-friendly sounds. The intro to ‘Swipe’, meanwhile, is pure hip-hop escapism that eventually gives way to a titanic rock chorus. Do You Feel O.K? is teaming with ideas, but on top of being a technical success, there’s an emotional core that ties its eleven tracks together.
There’s no denying that Do You Feel O.K? is an album with a dark heart, but whilst its lyrics speak of emotional despair and romantic despondency, so too do they provide the listener with a sense of hope and shared experience, taking an honest look at what it means to be a young person finding their way in a world shrouded in doubt. It’s a smart, forward-thinking and innovative record that opens up limitless possibilities for the future of its creators, and a picture-perfect example of a young band operating at the top of its game.

PICTURESQUE will tour throughout the US with Secrets in April as part of The New Decade Tour Part 1. Later this year they will be joining Scary Kids Scaring Kids on The City Sleeps In Flames 15th anniversary tour. For a full list is live dates head to PICTURESQUE‘s website:

For more information:

Do You Feel O.K? tracklisting:

1. Necessary
2. ATTN:
3. Swipe
4. Crimes
5. Prisoner
6. O.K?
7. Holding Me Down
8. Glass House
9. Pray
10. Say It Like You Mean It
11. Day By Day

Leave a Reply