Pearl Charles Announces New Album ‘Magic Mirror’, Out 15th Jan

Pearl Charles
Announces New Album ‘Magic Mirror’
Out 15th January 2021 on Kanine Records
New Single ‘What I Need’ Out Now

“Breezy pop and country lamentations delivered with a whole lot of soul.” – LA WEEKLY
“As if Tom Petty were riding shotgun, Charles and band capture a certain Southern California essence.”– LA TIMES
“Bursting with blues-rock and blissed-out psychedelia.” – PITCHFORK

One of the US’ finest rising stars, Pearl Charles, has announced her stunning new album, ‘Magic Mirror’, will be released on Kanine Records on 15th January 2021. Pearl has also shared her entrancing new single, ‘What I Need’.
Speaking of the track Pearl said, “Have you ever stuck with something long after it was time to let go?” She continues, “’What I Need’ explores this choice in terms of a breakup, though it could really be applied to any situation that is no longer serving you. It’s the age-old story of wanting to stay in a comfortable relationship but knowing that you have to move on for personal growth, and the fear and uncertainty that being alone will bring, even though it’s for the best.”

Magic Mirror is a looking glass of sorts. Like a modern-day Alice in Wonderland, Pearl beckons you to slip and fall into her world. You’ll find yourself drifting with the tide – the ups, downs, and all-arounds of a life well-lived and well-loved.
From start to finish you float along a reflective river, dancing in your own/the personal/private Studio 54 of your living room, decked out in sequins or nothing at all. It’s a feel good album that asks us to actually take the time to feel good. ‘Magic Mirror’ follows the cartography of a girl, growing into a woman, as she moves through life from single-dom, to the expansive space of self-reflection, and the newly appreciated perspective of coming back together again and finding yourself, this time with someone new.

Magic Mirror Tracklisting: 
1 Only for Tonight
What I Need
3 Imposter
4 Don’t Feel Like Myself
5 Magic Mirror
6 Slipping Away
7 All the Way
8 Take Your Time
9 Sweet Sunshine Wine
10 As Long As You’re Mine
Pearl has been playing music since she was five years old. At 18, she formed country duo The Driftwood Singers with Christian Lee Hutson, singing and playing guitar and autoharp. At 22, she joined garage rock band The Blank Tapes as a drummer. After a few fun-filled years immersed in the rock and roll lifestyle, she decided it was time to pursue her own songwriting and began developing the songs that formed 2015’s eponymous debut EP and additional debut LP that came out in 2017 on Kanine Records. Subsequently crafting an exhilarating live show in which she has headlined national and international dates as well as shared the stage with contemporaries Best Coast, Sunflower Bean, Mac Demarco, Conor Oberst, etc, as well as festival plays like ACL, Huichica and Desert Daze.
Her music career has been a chronological progression from old-time music to 60’s garage and psychedelia, and now more 70’s country and soft rock. Drawn to catchy, poppy hooks and choruses, Charles draws on what she loves about each era while developing her unique style and voice as a musician, singer, and songwriter.

Leave a Reply