NEW SINGLE : The Joy Formidable announce new album “Into The Blue” and share new single “Back To Nothing”

Photo credit: The Joy Formidable

The Joy Formidable announce new album Into The Blue

To be released Aug 20th via Hassle Records

Hear new single “Back To Nothing” HERE

The Joy Formidable are today announcing their new album, Into The Blue, along with second single “Back To Nothing”. Into The Blue will be released on August 20th via Hassle. Into The Blue follows the band’s critically acclaimed, kaleidoscopic 2018 album AAARTH, during which the band played the mainstage at Reading & Leeds Festival, supported Foo Fighters on their North American tour, and were invited by The Cure’s Robert Smith to play his Meltdown Festival at the South Bank, London, and Pasadena Daydream Fest in LA. The band’s new album will arrive into a much different world this time around, but it is birthed possessing a new energy and inventiveness. Even during the worst of times, their music finds a way to inspire and thrive.

“Back To Nothing” is the second single to emerge from the new album, and follows last month’s teaser track, also titled “Into The Blue”, dubbed “as confident and impressive as ever” by Huw Stephens on BBC 6 Music.

Where “Into The Blue” reveled in having the courage to enjoy the mystery and excitement of something unexpected, “Back To Nothing” reflects on where you’ve been and how grief can heal and illuminate the future. Lead singer and guitarist Ritzy Bryan comments further: “Back To Nothing takes a stance on self-compassion, realizing your worth & your boundaries and deciding not to give your love to an undeserving other.”

Into The Blue by The Joy Formidable will be released on August 20th 2021 on limited edition colour vinyl, CD and digital download. Pre-order the album here.

Listen to “Back To Nothing” on DSPs here or below.

More about The Joy Formidable’s new album Into The Blue

For The Joy Formidable, Into The Blue has come to symbolize a period in which anything felt possible. The world stands in a fine balancing act where no bad deed can shock anymore, yet good things can still happen. It is this second side of the coin that brings a resilient, more ethereal quality and magic to Into The Blue, as the band embraces a growth mindset, leaning into the idea that uncertainty needn’t be something to fear. As lead singer and guitarist Ritzy Bryan sings on the album’s title track “You see me for what I am, I don’t have to guess any more”, a great strength is found in turning feelings of being unaccepted and misunderstood into self-love and connection. We find them abandoning the idea of safety and security from the wider world, and instead searching for it within, happy to be surprised by life again.

“Into the Blue is about opening your eyes to beauty & love again. Making it to the other side. Whilst not conceived as a metaphor for the times we all live in now, it certainly turned out that way.”
Ritzy, Rhydian & Matt – The Joy Formidable

New album Into The Blue was written in North Wales and later completed at Ritzy’s home in Utah.

The Joy Formidable Music Club

Launched in 2018, TJF Music Club gives fans access to exclusive music, online shows and much more, forging part of a much needed new culture of direct artist support which they hope other artists could follow to empower themselves. TJF Music Club has also become a cherished way of connecting with fans while touring has ceased, and yet flourishes beyond. Click here to request Backstage access.

The Joy Formidable – Into The Blue album track listing

1. Into The Blue
2. Chimes
3. Sevier
4. Interval
5. Farrago
6. Gotta Feed My Dog
7. Somewhere New
8. Bring It To The Front
9. Back To Nothing
10. Only Once
11. Left Too Soon


The Joy Formidable: Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram YouTube

Leave a Reply