NEW ALBUM : Walter Trout- ‘Broken’ ft. Beth Hart & Dee Snider (Twisted Sister) || Out: 1st March

Photo (c) Leland Hayward

Blues-Rock’s Resilient Icon Walter Trout To Release New Studio Album

His incredibly creative and prolific streak continues with ‘Broken,’ featuring guest appearances from Beth Hart, Twisted Sister’s Dee Snider, and Harmonica Virtuoso Will Wilde.

Released 1st March Via Provogue / Mascot Label Group 

Watch the video for “Broken” ft. Beth Hart  here:

Released 1st March Via Provogue / Mascot Label Group 

“Bleed” ft. Will Wilde here:

16 Oct – Opera House – Buxton, UK

17 Oct – Queens hall – Edinburgh, UK

18 Oct – The Glasshouse – Gateshead, UK

19 Oct – Picturedrome – Holmfirth, UK

22 Oct – Apex – Bury St Edmunds, UK

23 Oct – Cheese & Grain – Frome, UK

24 Oct – Town Hall – Birmingham, UK

25 Oct – Islington Assembly Hall – London, UK

Watch the lyric video for the first new song, “Bleed” ft. Will Wilde here:

Blues-rock icon Walter Trout is riding a creatively formidable wave and heading into 2024 with an album raucous, wild and poignant in Broken. The album features guest appearances from  powerhouse singer Beth Hart, Twisted Sister’s Dee Snider and Harmonica virtuoso Will Wilde. It will be released on March 1 via Provogue / Mascot Label Group. You can get the first taste of the new single, Bleed, featuring Will Wilde

All of us are broken. But no one is beyond repair. It’s a philosophy that Walter Trout has lived by during seven volatile decades at the heart of America’s society and blues-rock scene. Even now, with the world more fractured than ever – by politics, economics, social media and culture wars – the fabled US bluesman’s latest album, Broken, chronicles the bitter schisms of modern life but refuses to succumb to them.

“I’ve always tried to write positive songs, and this album is not quite that,” considers the 72a-year-old of an all-original tracklisting that rages and soothes. “But I always hold on to hope. I think that’s why I wrote this album.”

For the last half-century, however rocky his path, hope and resilience has always lit the way. The beat of Trout’s unbelievable story are well-known: the traumatic childhood in Ocean City, New Jersey; the audacious move to the West Coast in ’74; the auspicious but chaotic sideman shifts with John Lee Hooker and Big Mama Thornton; the raging addictions that somehow never stopped the boogie when he was with Canned Heat in the early-’80s.

Even now, some will point to Trout’s mid-’80s guitar pyrotechnics in the lineup of John Mayall’s legendary Bluesbreakers as his career high point. But for a far greater majority of fans, the blood, heart and soul of his solo career since 1989 is the main event, the bluesman’s songcraft always reaching for some greater truth, forever surging forward, never shrinking back.

It’s a peerless creative streak underlined by the guitarist’s regular triumphs at ceremonies, including the Blues Music Awards, SENA European Guitar Awards, British Blues Awards and Blues Blast Music Awards. The iconic British DJ ‘Whispering’ Bob Harris spoke for millions when he declared Trout “the world’s greatest rock guitarist” in his 2001 autobiography, The Whispering Years.

If he were a less questing artist, Trout could mark time and dine out on those past glories, leaving the polemics and calls-to-arms to a younger generation. But that’s not enough, considers the still-hungry veteran. “I have to grow. I want to be a vital contributing artist. I feel young. I know I’m not. But in my head, I’m still 25, wanting to get better and do something I haven’t done before. I have more to say.”

The album was recorded at Kingsize Soundlabs in LA with producer Eric Corne.  “This is our 15th album together,” calculates the bluesman. “Eric and I just have a way of working, man. A friend who came into the studio and watched us and said, ‘Man, you guys are like a machine’. It’s unspoken.”

A few collaborators joined Trout for the first time. “I thought my friend Beth Hart could relate to the title track, Broken,” he says of the warrior princess whose fiery vocals coil with his own. “Dee Snider from Twisted Sister put up a live cut of me on his Twitter and said: ‘Listen to this fucking guitar hero’. We started talking and became friends. He came into the studio, and I knew I had to write him a song. Bleed came about when we were pretty much done. My drummer Michael Leasure said to me, ‘Hey, Walter, you played with John Lee Hooker and Canned Heat, this is your 31st album and you’ve never played a boogie. What’s the deal?’ So I said, ‘OK, fuck it, let’s do a boogie’. I can kinda play harmonica, but I thought, ‘Let’s elevate this thing’. There’s a young harmonica player in England who’s the best I’ve ever heard, Will Wilde. He has the soul and the power of Paul Butterfield but couples that with blinding virtuoso technique.”

Elsewhere, the wistful Talkin’ To Myself, Trout took inspiration from the hits that crackled from AM radio in his youth, and no words were required for the tender instrumental Love Of My Life (“Of course, it’s about Marie”).

With gallows humour, Trout notes that his new album opens with a track called Broken and ends with one called Falls Apart. He can’t deny the link between the personal and the socio-political mood in the air, and as such, between those two bookends lie some of the most raw and bruised songs of his career. Still hope leads the way with the notion that music can help us overcome brokenness – one note at a time.

Tour Dates

25 Jan – The Princess Theatre – Woolloongabba, AUSTRALIA

27 Jan – Factory Theatre – Marrickville, AUSTRALIA

28 Jan – Lizottes – Newcastle, AUSTRALIA

30 Jan – Hermonie German Club of Canberra – Narrabundah, AUSTRALIA

01 Feb – The Gov – Hindmarsh, AUSTRALIA

02 Feb – The Gov – Hindmarsh, AUSTRALIA

03 Feb – Freo.Social – Fremantle, AUSTRALIA


03 Apr – Kulturcenter Jammerbugt – Aabybro, DENMARK

04 Apr – Eksercerhuset – Fredericia, DENMARK

06 Apr – Amager Bio – Copenhagen, DENMARK

09 Apr – Biljardkompaniet – Kristianstad, SWEDEN

10 Apr – Kungsbacka Teater – Kungsbacka, SWEDEN

11 Apr – Röverstaden – Oslo, NORWAY

12 Apr – Ottos – Finnsnes, NORWAY

13 Apr – Kulturakademin – Motala, SWEDEN

15 Apr – Bryggarsalen – Odenplan, SWEDEN

17 Apr – Pakkahuoneenaukio – Tampere, FINLAND

18 Apr – House of Culture – Helsinki, FINLAND

20 Apr – Katalin – Uppsala, SWEDEN

23 Apr – Archa Theatre – Praha, Czechia

24 Apr – Der Anker – Leipzig, GERMANY

25 Apr – Kesselhaus in der Kulturbrauerei – Berlin, GERMANY

26 Apr – Markethalle – Hamburg, GERMANY

27 Apr – Bürgerhaus Stollwerck – Köln, GERMANY

28 Apr – Zeche Bochum – Bochum, GERMANY

30 Apr – Alhambra – Paris, FRANCE

01 May – Musiktheater REX – Bensheim, GERMANY

03 May – Konzertfabrik 27 & Mini Z7 – Pratteln, SWITZERLAND

04 May – Im Wizemann – Stuttgart, GERMANY

06 May – Rockhouse – Salzburg, AUSTRIA

07 May – Colos-Seal – Aschaffenburg, GERMANY

09 May – Paradiso – Amsterdam, NETHERLANDS

10 May – Luxor Live – Arnhem, NETHERLANDS

12 May – Poppodium 013 – Tilburg, NETHERLANDS

16 Oct – Opera House – Buxton, UK

17 Oct – Queens hall – Edinburgh, UK

18 Oct – The Glasshouse – Gateshead, UK

19 Oct – Picturedrome – Holmfirth, UK

22 Oct – Apex – Bury St Edmunds, UK

23 Oct – Cheese & Grain – Frome, UK

24 Oct – Town Hall – Birmingham, UK

25 Oct – Islington Assembly Hall – London, UK

1. Broken (feat. Beth Hart)
2. Turn And Walk Away
3. Courage In The Dark
4. Bleed (feat. Will Wilde on Harmonica)
5. Talkin’ To Myself
6. No Magic ( in the street )
7. I’ve Had Enough (feat. Dee Snider)
8. Love Of My Life
9. Breathe – written by Richard Gerstein
10. Heaven Or Hell
11. I Wanna Stay
12. Falls Apart


Leave a Reply