NEW ALBUM : Silver anniversary edition of OASIS’ iconic B-sides album ‘THE MASTERPLAN’ is highest new entry in UK Official Album Chart this week

Photo credit – Jill Furmanovsky




 “The best songs here are up with Noel Gallagher’s greatest moments” (The Sunday Times)

The silver anniversary reissue of Oasis’ iconic 1998 B-sides album ‘The Masterplan’ has charted at No.2, matching the album’s original chart position in 1998.

‘The Masterplan’ released on Oasis’ own Big Brother Recordings label, is the highest new entry in the Official Album Charts 100 this week, only being held off the No.1 slot by Taylor Swift’s ‘1989 (Taylor’s Version)’, with the album also charting at No.1 in both the Vinyl and Cassette charts this week. A remarkable achievement for a non-studio album comprising of a collection of the seminal Manchester band’s B-sides from 1994–1997 and further evidence that, far from being inferior to the A-sides they backed, many of the 14 tracks that feature on ‘The Masterplan’ have become as cherished as the band’s biggest hits from that incredible period.

 Last week Oasis dropped a new lyric video for ‘Rockin’ Chair’, originally released as part of the ‘Roll With It’ CD & 12 inch singles in 1995, which features a movingly tender vocal from Liam Gallagher.

This follows a new lyric video for ‘Listen Up’, the incredible B-side to ‘Cigarettes & Alcohol’, released last month to coincide with National Album Day and the news that their era-defining first two albums, ‘Definitely Maybe’ and ‘(What’s The Story) Morning Glory?, are the top two most streamed albums of the 1990s, with ‘(What’s The Story) Morning Glory?’ at No.1 and ‘Definitely Maybe’ at No.2.

‘The Masterplan’ 25th anniversary celebrations began in September with a new lyric video for ‘Acquiesce’, one of Oasis best loved songs, originally found on the ‘Some Might Say’ CD single and unforgettably co-sung by both Noel and Liam. Oasis have also released video footage of two classic performances from their record-breaking two night stand at Knebworth House in 1996, ‘Acquiesce’ and title track ‘The Masterplan’, which Noel has often described as one of the best songs he has ever written.

 Featuring remastered audio, silver anniversary editions of ‘The Masterplan’ are available now on CD, cream cassette, and limited double vinyl (heavyweight silver, green and black marble, and black). Order formats and listen to the album here.

 Visit for details and follow #TheMasterplan25

Oasis – ‘The Masterplan’ (Remastered Edition) – Album Tracklisting;

01 Acquiesce (Remastered)

02 Underneath The Sky (Remastered)

03 Talk Tonight (Remastered)

04 Going Nowhere (Remastered)

05 Fade Away (Remastered)

06 The Swamp Song (Remastered)

07 I Am The Walrus – Live Glasgow Cathouse June ‘94 (Remastered)

08 Listen Up (Remastered)

09 Rockin’ Chair (Remastered)

10 Half The World Away (Remastered)

11 (It’s Good) To Be Free (Remastered)

12 Stay Young (Remastered)

13 Headshrinker (Remastered)

14 The Masterplan (Remastered)


Leave a Reply