NEW ALBUM : NOEL GALLAGHER’S HIGH FLYING BIRDS celebrate first decade with new best of album, ‘BACK THE WAY WE CAME: VOL.1 (2011-2021),’ out 11 June 2021

Noel Gallagher – new colour portrait © Matt Crockett 2021

Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds Announce

‘Back The Way We Came: Vol.1 (2011-2021)’

Out 11th June (on Sour Mash Records)

Greatest Hits Album Celebrating Ten Years of Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds

Featuring Two Brand New Songs

New Single ‘We’re On Our Way Now’ Unveiled

‘Back The Way We Came: Vol 1 (2011-2021)’ Available on 2CD, Deluxe 3CD, Double Heavyweight LP plus HD Digital Formats

Also Available – Limited-Edition Deluxe Box-Set Including Set of Deluxe Vinyl, Etched 7” Plus 12” Coffee Table Photo Book with Deluxe CD set – plus Double LP Picture Disc as an Online Store Exclusive

 Available To Pre Order Now Here

Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds today announce details of ‘Back The Way We Came: Vol 1 (2011-2021).

Released on 11th June 2021 via Sour Mash Records, ‘Back The Way We Came: Vol 1 (2011-2021)’ is a definitive 18 track greatest hits package, and a timely reminder of the breadth & depth of classic songs from the first decade of Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds. The album is also available on limited-edition deluxe formats with a bonus disc including previously unreleased acoustic versions, remixes, instrumentals and an unheard demo.

There will also be a limited-edition numbered, hand pressed, coloured double LP with exclusive art print released for Record Store Day on 12th June.

Curated and compiled entirely by Noel, the tracklisting of ‘Back The Way We Came: Vol 1 (2011-2021)’ encompasses songs from High Flying Birds’ three UK No.1 albums (‘Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds’, ‘Chasing Yesterday’ and ‘Who Built The Moon?’) and the three acclaimed EPs (‘Black Star Dancing’, ‘This Is The Place’ and ‘Blue Moon Rising’). ‘Back The Way We Came: Vol 1 (2011-2021)’ also features two brand new songs produced by Noel Gallagher & Paul ‘Strangeboy’ Stacey, ‘We’re On Our Way Now’ and ‘Flying On The Ground’.  A songwriting masterclass that sits effortlessly in one of the great songbooks, ‘We’re On Our Way Now’ is unveiled today, a taste of the future-fan-favourites to come.

Since establishing Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds post the legendary success of Oasis, Gallagher has never sat still creatively. He’s mastered the art of embracing an instinctive sonic evolution and creative freedom whilst never neglecting the songcraft. From the New Orleans brass powered blast of debut single ‘The Death Of You And Me’ via the self-produced psych-pop and space bound experimentation of ‘Chasing Yesterday’ and the disco saturated, sonic veer of ‘Who Built The Moon?’ (at the hands of renowned producer David Holmes) and the subsequent EP releases, Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds have proven time and time again to be unshackled by genre and expectation. That Gallagher has so successfully married this bold and blistering approach with huge commercial success (over 2.4 million albums sold internationally with three UK No.1 albums – marking a record-breaking ten consecutive UK No.1 studio albums across his career), coupled with relentless touring globally, is testament to Gallagher’s unerring ability to marry laser-guided melodies and fearless creativity.

Speaking of the timing of High Flying Birds’ greatest hits album, Noel says,

10 years of Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds??  Blimey! … Just think of all the things I COULD have done in that time!!

“The title just came to me one afternoon, at the kitchen table. It’s a saying isn’t it: ‘Back the way we came’. I actually thought it was a great title. Which is why it’s got Vol 1. Because if there’s another one, I’m not coming up with another title!”

Now with the best part of thirty years as one of the country’s most respected and prolific songwriters under his belt, ‘Back The Way We Came: Vol 1 (2011-2021)’ celebrates another landmark in Noel Gallagher’s unparalleled career.

‘Back The Way We Came: Vol 1 (2011-2021)’ is available to pre order now on the following formats:

  • Standard 2CD
  • Deluxe 3CD
  • Double heavyweight LP
  • Limited-edition Deluxe Box Set including set of deluxe vinyl, etched 7” plus 12” coffee table photo book with deluxe CD set
  • Online store exclusive – Double LP picture disc & cassette

A Record Store Day 2021 limited-edition numbered, hand-pressed, coloured double LP with exclusive art print will also be released on 12th June

‘Back The Way We Came: Vol 1 (2011-2021)’ – Album Tracklisting;

Disc 1

  1. Everybody’s On The Run
  2. The Death Of You And Me
  3. AKA … What A Life!
  4. If I Had A Gun …
  5. In The Heat Of The Moment
  6. Riverman
  7. Lock All The Doors
  8. The Dying Of The Light
  9. Ballad Of The Mighty I
  10. We’re On Our Way Now


Disc 2

  1. Black Star Dancing
  2. Holy Mountain (Remastered)
  3. A Dream Is All I Need To Get By
  4. This Is The Place
  5. It’s A Beautiful World
  6. Blue Moon Rising
  7. Dead In The Water (Live At RTÉ 2FM Studios, Dublin)
  8. Flying On The Ground


Bonus Disc

  1. It’s A Beautiful World (Instrumental)
  2. If I Had A Gun … (Acoustic Version)
  3. Black Star Dancing (Skeleton Key Remix)
  4. Black Star Dancing (12” Mix Instrumental)
  5. The Man Who Built The Moon (Acoustic Version)
  6. International Magic (Demo)
  7. Blue Moon Rising (Sons Of The Desert Remix)
  8. The Dying Of The Light (Acoustic Version)
  9. This Is The Place (Skeleton Key Remix)
  10. This Is The Place (Instrumental)
  11. Black Star Dancing (The Reflex Revision)
  12. Be Careful What You Wish For (Instrumental)

Leave a Reply