CONCERT REVIEW : Penny Mob – Broadcast – 5TH MARCH 2023

With three bands on the bill the Broadcast crowd were in for a treat of rock music. The first band – Hazy Sundays – took to the stage around 8pm and would entertain the crowd with eight songs. The four piece band are from Glasgow and are made up of Shaun Kenny (vocals/rhythm guitar), Mark Devlin (lead guitar), Ross McDonald (bass) and Peter Cannon (drums). Their music can be described as indie rock with a little punk thrown in. Hazy Sundays have caught the eye of John Kennedy on Radio X and are gaining a lot of new fans. The set began with You Know Me, Like To Be and Hear The Truth, which is their latest single with a deep Manchester indie sound similar to Oasis. Never Know has a punk theme throughout and gives a nod to the style of The Damned. They continued with Losing Control, Had Enough Of It and finishing with the excellent All You Ever Wanted.

Next up were Local Authority, a three piece band from Ayr. Formed in 2021, they have released two singles to date: Local Authority with three tracks (You’re Not The Only One, Ultimate Fighting Champion and Wartime) and All You Do Is Talk also with three tracks (All You Do Is Talk, Get Out Of The Way and Use Your Mind). The band played all of these tracks and the basement at Broadcast was filling up nicely for the main event.

Penny Mob are a three piece band with Jamie Quinn on vocals and guitar, Jay Luther on bass and Andrew Mullan on drums. Jamie Quinn is also an actor, appearing in the first ever episode of Still Game and making more appearances in the show as it progressed. He currently plays the part of Ian in the Scottish comedy Two Doors Down. Andrew Mullan is also an actor and the two of them have been friends since they met at drama school in London. The band formed in 2016 and released their debut single in 2018 21st Century Kids. The band name Penny Mob comes from the Glasgow gangs of the 1870s that were called Penny Mobs. The venue was packed out now and the band received a rapturous applause when they took to the stage. The set began with Intoxicated, Party Animal and their biggest song to date Revolution, a punk inspired anthemic song with a bursting chorus line: give me a revolution, find me some solution, it aint a rich man’s game … which the crowd sang along with. They had a few new songs in the setlist which were sounding good: Diamond Girl, Addicted and War On The Streets, which was the last song of the night. A cover of Children Of The Night was played, which was appreciated by all. Penny Mob played a total of eleven songs.

Penny Mob track listing:

  1. Intoxicated Party Animal  3. Revolution  4. Diamond Girl  5. Back In The Day  6. Addicted  7. Simpler Times  8. Children Of The Night (cover)  9. 21st Century Kids  10. I’m Alive  11. War On The Streets


Gig review and photos by Alan Brown.

Leave a Reply