TOUR NEWS : FISHERMAN’S FRIENDS UK TOUR – CHARITY MATINEE SHOW ADDED + NEW FILM RELEASED TOMORROW

FISHERMAN’S FRIENDS UK TOUR
CHARITY MATINEE SHOW ADDED TO UK TOUR AT TRURO HALL FOR CORNWALL IN AID OF LITTLE HARBOUR CHILDREN’S HOSPICE SOUTH WEST
 
NEW FILM FISHERMAN’S FRIENDS: ONE AND ALL
RELEASED FRIDAY 19TH AUGUST

With their evening performance at Truro Hall for Cornwall now sold out, Fisherman’s Friends have added matinee show for Saturday 05 November.  This extra performance is a charity event in aid of Little Harbour Children’s Hospice South West. Tickets for all dates are on sale now via https://gigst.rs/FishF
 
Britain’s oldest boy band (a combined age of 401), Fisherman’s Friend have nine albums to their name, two feature films, a stage musical, a book, a TV documentary, they’ve played for royalty and to tens of thousands of fans in sell-out tours year in year out… No, it’s not The Beatles, it’s not Slade, Take That or One Direction – it’s The Fisherman’s Friends! 
 
“We can’t wait to get out and about and sing live for our supper again – we love it,” says extravagantly moustachioed founding member and bass man Jon Cleave.
 
A decade ago, The Fisherman’s Friends were persuaded to sign a million-pound record deal that saw their album Port Isaac’s Fisherman’s Friends go Gold as they became the first ever traditional folk act to land a UK top ten album. 
 
And thanks to the small film with a big heart that shares their name, the story of the original Cornish ‘buoy band’ is known around the world – bound by shared experience, for more than 30 years they have gathered on the Platt on the harbour in their native Port Isaac to sing the songs of the sea, songs that in some cases have been handed down for hundreds of years, songs that connect them to generations of Cornish fishermen that have come before them.
 
The film’s sequel Fisherman’s Friends: One and All is released this Friday 19th August. The story follows the group from the highs of starring on the Pyramid Stage at Glastonbury, through the lows of struggling to make a follow-up album. 
 
James Purefoy, David Hayman, Maggie Steed and Dave Johns are among those returning from the first film, with Imelda May making her acting debut as singer Aubrey Flynn and a guest appearance from broadcaster Chris Evans.
 
Based on the first film, Fisherman’s Friends: The Musical broke all box office records when it premiered at Hall For Cornwall last year. It is set to tour the nation’s theatres from 1st September 2022, opening in Plymouth, before visiting Birmingham, Cheltenham, Salford, Milton Keynes, Newcastle, Dublin, Cardiff, Bath and Leeds.
 
The Fisherman’s Friends are lobster fisherman Jeremy Brown, writer/ shopkeeper Jon Cleave, smallholder and engineer John ‘Lefty’ Lethbridge, builder John McDonnell (a Yorkshireman who visited Port Isaac more than 30 years ago and never left), Padstow fisherman Jason Nicholas, filmmaker Toby Lobb and the new boy, former ambulance driver Pete Hicks.
 
Dates:
Fri 21 Oct 2022           Motherwell Concert Hall 
Sat 22 Oct 2022          Aberdeen Music Hall
Sun 23 Oct 2022         Caird Hall Dundee
Thu 03 Nov 2022        Torquay Princess Theatre     
Fri 04 Nov 2022          Swansea Brangwyn Hall

Sat 05 Nov 2022          Truro Hall for Cornwall
Matinee added for Little Harbour Children’s Hospice

Sat 05 Nov 2022          Truro Hall for Cornwall
Thu 01 Dec 2022         Peterborough Cresset
Fri 02 Dec 2022           Bexhill De La Warr Pavilion 
Sat 03 Dec 2022          Harpenden Eric Morecambe Centre
Sun 04 Dec 2022    Bury St. Edmunds The Apex    – Matinee – SOLD OUT 
Sun 04 Dec 2022         Bury St. Edmunds The Apex 
Thu 02 Feb 2023         Bournemouth Pavilion Theatre        
Fri 03 Feb 2023           Cambridge Corn Exchange   
Sat 04 Feb 2023           Gateshead Sage
Sun 05 Feb 2023          Halifax Victoria Theatre

Thu 02 Mar 2023        Weston-Super-Mare Playhouse        
Fri 03 Mar 2023          Leicester De Montfort Hall   
Sat 04 Mar 2023          Reading Hexagon     
Sun 05 Mar 2023         Portsmouth Guildhall
Thu 13 Apr 2023         Chesterfield Winding Wheel 
Fri 14 Apr 2023           Birmingham Symphony Hall
Sat 15 Apr 2023          Folkestone Leas Cliff Hall     
Sun 16 Apr 2023         Barnstaple Queens Theatre   
Thu 04 May 2023        Milton Keynes Stables – SOLD OUT
Fri 05 May 2023          Warrington Parr Hall
Sat 06 May 2023         York Barbican
Sun 07 May 2023        Buxton Opera House

Leave a Reply