The Kinks Lola Versus Powerman and The Moneygoround Part One, 50th Anniversary Album Re-issues Out 11th December on BMG

Lola Versus Powerman and The Moneygoround Part One
 50th Anniversary, Multi-Format, Album Re-issues
 Out 11thDecember on BMG
Available to Order Now:
New Track ‘The Follower – Any Time 2020

Lola Versus Powerman and the Moneygoround, Part One, commonly abbreviated to Lola Versus Powerman, or just Lola, is the eighth studio album by The Kinks, recorded and released in 1970. A concept album ahead of its time, it’s a satirical appraisal of the music industry, including song publishers, unions, the press, accountants, business managers, and life on the road. One of the all time classic Kinks albums.

Let the 50th anniversary celebrations begin, as The Kinks unveil special multi-format release plans for the album as a lovingly produced Deluxe Box Set, 1LP, Deluxe 2CD, 1CD and digitally – to be released on 11thDecember via BMG.

  • Limited Edition, Deluxe 10” Slipcased book pack (containing 60 page book, 3 X CDs, 2 X 7” singles, 4 X colour prints)
  • 1LP Gatefold
  • 2CD Hardback Book
  • 1CD Softpack
  • Digital
  • HD Digital
  • D2C Limited Edition Exclusives (free with boxset orders):  7” Single, Enamel pin badge

Although it appeared during a transitional period for The Kinks, Lola Versus Powerman was a success both critically and commercially for the group, charting in the Top 40 in America and helping restore them in the public eye, making it a “comeback” album. It contained two hit singles: ‘Lola’, which reached the #9 US, #2 UK and Germany – becoming the Kinks’ biggest success since ‘Sunny Afternoon’ in 1966 – and ‘Apeman’, which peaked at #5 in the UK and Germany. 
Ray says:“The album is a celebration of artistic freedom (including my own) and the right for anyone to be gender free if one wishes. The secret is to be a good and trusting person and friend.”

Ahead of its time, the track ‘Lola’ was written by Ray Davies in early 1970 and recorded at Morgan Studios in London. The track supposedly tells the romantic tale between a young man and a transgender person whom he meets in a club in Soho,inspired by an alleged encounter by the band’s manager.Released with Village Green Preservation Societyouttake ‘Berkeley Mews’ in the UK and the Dave Davies-penned ‘Mindless Child of Motherhood’ in the US, the iconic hook has been sung around the world for decades.
The Lola Versus Powerman and the Moneygoround, Part One release plans follow the recent successful #LolaDay, celebrating 50 years of the seminal hit single. Fans were able to ‘Lolafy’ their individual photos with 10 new custom-made stickers available via The Kinks websiteThroughout the day some of the finest acts such as The Amazons released their interpretations of the track via The Kinks’ channels, and various exciting Kinks archive audio, video and printed material was shared with fans. 
The ‘Lolafy’ site has been updated from today to include four new stickers of the band members, Dave, Mick, Pete and Ray.
The 50thAnniversary box set campaign launches with a brand new Ray Davies’ remix / medley of the Kinks track Any Time’(titled‘ The Follower – Any Time 2020 Feat: Anytime by The Kinks’).

Originally written by Ray as a possible B-side for ‘Apeman’, the track includes previously unreleased versions and excerpts of several Kinks tracks from the Lolaalbumas well as added spoken word and sound effects. It is a concept piece about which Ray states “The isolation caused by Coronavirus can give people time to re-evaluate the world and re-assess their lives. Music can comfort the lonely, transcend time and it’s not the future or the past, yesterday, today or tomorrow. It’s anytime”.He adds, “I saw a way of making this unreleased 1970s track connect to an audience in 2020. I also saw a way of showing that music can time-travel, that memory is instantaneous and therefore can join us in the ‘now’. I put this together as something surreal then realised that it was really happening. The song has found its place – after its 50th Birthday!”

Available to Pre-order here
Rigid, matt laminated, open one end card slipcase, with foil and metallic special cover effects, containing: 60 page hardback book with notes, band quotes, Ray Davies ‘1970 Diary’, rare photos / memorabilia; 3CDs in card wallets containing the remastered original album and bonus audio including many unreleased tracks: front and back pocket pages containing 2 reproduced original international 7” picture sleeve singles (‘Lola’ & ‘Apeman’) and 4 x printed 5” sq rare band photocards.
CDs x 3
Stereo original album newly remastered from original master tapes, singles (stereo and mono mixes), B-sides, alternate original mixes.
Exclusive to the boxset: new medleys with Ray & Dave Davies in intimate conversation in Ray’s kitchen, plus nine new Ray Davies remixes and out-takes from the original session tapes, previously unreleased session and live tapes, instrumental and acoustic versions, previously unreleased demos and BBC material. Track lists curated and produced by Ray Davies.
7” Singles x 2

  • ‘Lola / Berkeley Mews’ Italian picture sleeve. 
  • ‘Apeman’ / ‘Rats’ Portuguese picture sleeve, (with alternate version of ‘Apeman’)

Reproduced original artwork, remastered audio, black vinyl. 

Deluxe 60 page, 10” square, gloss-art hardback book with extensive notes by renound Kinks expert Andy Neill, interviews / new band quotes (from Ray Davies, Dave Davies, Mick Avory and John Dalton and John Gosling), rare photos and memorabilia. Includes full, detailed tracklist information and historical background.
4 x 5” sq, light card, gloss-art photos:
Newly remastered original album (Stereo), original gatefold sleeve, heavyweight vinyl, booklet with notes, new band quotes, rare photos and memorabilia. Officially available for the first time since 1983.

Newly remastered original album (Stereo), deluxe hardback book 2CD, booklet with notes, new band quotes, rare photos and memorabilia.
Newly remastered original album + key bonus tracks from the box set. Digi-pack, 
booklet with notes, new band quotes, rare photos and memorabilia.
Newly remastered original album (Stereo) plus other key tracks from the box set, including the IGs / e-singles

  • ‘Lola / Berkeley Mews’ original Danish picture sleeve 7” single: Remastered, reproduced original artwork, clear vinyl 
  • Bespoke round metal & enamel pin badge featuring album cover art.

Leave a Reply