NEW SINGLE : Pure of pop and pure of heart, Red Rum Club take cupid for a dance with new, instant earworm single…Love Me Like You Wanna Be Loved

Red Rum Club – Love Me Like You Wanna Be Loved


From the new album, How To Steal The World, Fri 22 October 2021 on Modern Sky

Pre-orders and further information:

L-O-V-E gets the starring role in the latest single from festival field-conquering six-piece, Red Rum Club, as they stop summer’s Waltzer ride of joyous summer gigs to release Love Me Like You Wanna Be Loved. Having left screams and smiles behind at major festivals including TRNSMT and Neighbourhood Weekender, the deep-thinking, hard-dancing disco kings – and one of the UK’s most exciting live bands – cool down long enough to release the third single from upcoming, third album, How To Steal The World

Never better than seeing the whites of their fans’ smiles, Red Rum Club caused near pandemonium on their recent support tour with Circa Waves and now look ahead, not only to headlining the Saturday night of Sound City, but also a SOLD-OUT homecoming at the 2,300 capacity Mountford Hall, Liverpool in October. Love Me Like You Wanna Be Loved arrives as another heartfelt, up-tempo dream of a singalong just in time for the outswing of a 2021 that has put Red Rum Club right back where they belong.

Within the folds of every handclap, lighting-strike of brass and peal of fuzzy guitars lies a melancholic yearning as love takes a firm hold of an innocent heart, finding Red Rum Club walking a tightrope of emotion. Yet Love Me Like You Wanna Be Loved is ultimately the sound of love’s enduring upsides, dancing on the shimmering surface of the unashamed, rainbow sky and glitter fountain of pop music.

The band’s singer, Fran Doran says: “This single is brazenly upbeat, allowing the echoes of pop, disco and funk’s past to shine brightly through into the form of a modern pop anthem. Our ambition was to create a nostalgia-tinged wall-of-sound with a passionate message of hope. What came out was an all-out sing along anthem, so – mission accomplished!”

There are twelve tracks waiting for fans on How To Steal The World, released on Fri 22 October 2021 on Modern Sky, an album that was first introduced with the smoky cool of Nightcalling in June. Carried on a late-night mist of conga beats, scratchy guitar lines and trademark trumpet adrenaline shots, the single signalled no fading confidence or passion from a band hurt by a year away from the stage. Influenced as much by Arctic Monkeys as any vintage funkateers, the page-turning Vibrate came next, telling a straight-up tale of love in the modern age, where beeps and buzzes can be the difference between heartbreak or a happy ever after.  

Gradually moving new tracks in alongside those of their first two albums, Matador and The Hollow Of Humdrum, the response from audiences – their own and borrowed (permanently) from the bands they share stages with – has been effusive. With loads more to give, the continuing run of Red Rum Club live dates for 2021 are as follows:

  • Tue 28 Sep          Newcastle Riverside
  • Wed 29 Sep        Glasgow King Tuts – SOLD OUT
  • Thu 30 Sep          Hull Adelphi
  • Fri 1 Oct               Blackpool Bootleg Social
  • Sat 2 Oct              Sound City Liverpool
  • Sun 3 Oct             Leeds Brudenell
  • Mon 4 Oct           York Crescent
  • Tue 5 Oct             London Lafayette
  • Wed 6 Oct           Milton Keynes Crauford Arms
  • Fri 8 Oct               Bedford Esquires
  • Sat 9 Oct              Cardiff Clwb Ifor Bach
  • Sun 10 Oct          Brighton Patterns
  • Mon 11 Oct        Bournemouth Anvil – SOLD OUT
  • Wed 13 Oct        Bristol Thelka
  • Thu 14 Oct          Truro Old Bakery
  • Fri 15 Oct             Exeter Cavern
  • Sat 16 Oct            Oxford O2 Academy
  • Mon 18 Oct        Birmingham O2 Institute 3 – SOLD OUT
  • Tue 19 Oct          Sheffield O2 Academy 2 – SOLD OUT
  • Wed 20 Oct        Huddersfield Parish
  • Thu 21 Oct          Manchester Club Academy – SOLD OUT
  • Sat 23 Oct            Liverpool Mountford Hall – SOLD OUT

The band has confirmed the track listing for How To Steal The World as:

  1. Drown
  2. Love me like you wanna be loved
  3. Vibrate
  4. Summer of Another Lover
  5. Nightcalling
  6. Eighteen
  7. How To Steal The World
  8. Sweet Degrees
  9. Come back, Anna Marie!
  10. Disappear
  11. Monaco
  12. Beautiful Mind

For further release information and details of all Red Rum Club’s upcoming live shows, connect with the band online at:

Leave a Reply