NEW SINGLE : NOEL GALLAGHER’S HIGH FLYING BIRDS release new ‘Abbey Road Sessions’ versions of two Oasis classics

Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds Release New Abbey Road Sessions

Versions Of Oasis Classics ‘Going Nowhere’ and ‘The Masterplan’


Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds today unveil two new versions of the classic Oasis songs ‘Going Nowhere’ and ‘The Masterplan’ recorded at London’s iconic Abbey Road Studios. ‘The Masterplan’

and ‘Going Nowhere’ here.  Both songs are available to listen to now here.

‘The Masterplan’ and ‘Going Nowhere’ have become mainstays in Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds’ recent live sets to a rapturous response.  The original recorded versions of both tracks appear on Oasis’ B-sides album ‘The Masterplan’ which recently celebrated its 25th anniversary, re-entering the UK Official Albums Chart at No. 2 in November.

Today’s news comes just days ahead of Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds’ much anticipated run of British arena shows, beginning at London’s Wembley Arena on Thursday (14th December). These shows follow a busy November that has taken in touring across three continents, and cap off a huge 2023 for Noel, which has seen the release of his fourth studio solo album ‘Council Skies’, a mammoth 26-date US tour, as well as epic UK headline outdoor shows including Crystal Palace Bowl and Brighton Beach. The summer culminated with the band’s biggest ever headline gig to date, a celebratory homecoming show at Manchester’s Wythenshawe Park on August Bank Holiday weekend. The performances were described as “emotional and thrilling” by the BBC, “typically legendary” by the Daily Mirror, and “sounding bigger and bolder than ever” by CLASH.

‘Council Skies’, widely regarded as Noel’s most complete solo statement to date,  includes ‘Open The Door, See What You Find’, ‘Pretty Boy’, ‘Easy Now’, and current single ‘We’re Gonna Get There In The End’ which is currently featured on multiple key national radio playlists. The album has received widespread critical acclaim and has already been featured in several Album Of The Year lists, including the likes of MOJO and Rolling Stone UK.

Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds have also just announced their first performances for summer 2024 – four huge outdoor shows including Wigan’s Robin Park (Thursday 18th July), London’s Alexandra Palace Park (Saturday 20th July), as well as returning to Cardiff Castle (Wednesday 17th July), and Halifax’s The Piece Hall (Thursday 1st August) following sold-out shows at these venues in 2022. Tickets are on sale now.

Fans can look forward to a set including Oasis classics, as well as a cross section of material from the past dozen years of Noel Gallagher’s prolific career as a solo artist.

‘Council Skies’ is available now on CD, heavyweight vinyl with bonus 7”, LP picture disc plus various digital formats including a Dolby Atmos spatial audio version. All Council Skies formats are available here.


Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds – 2023 UK Arena Tour Dates

14 December  London, OVO Arena Wembley SOLD OUT

15 December  Birmingham, Utilita Arena SOLD OUT

17 December  Cardiff, Utilita Arena SOLD OUT

18 December  Leeds, First Direct Arena

20 December  Glasgow, OVO Hydro

21 December  Liverpool, M&S Bank Arena SOLD OUT


Summer 2024

17 July             Cardiff Castle

18 July             Wigan, Robin Park

20 July             London, Alexandra Palace Park

1 August         Halifax, The Piece Hall SOLD OUT


Last remaining tickets for Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds’ December 2023 UK arena tour are available here

Tickets for Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds Summer 2024 shows are available here




Praise For ‘Council Skies’


“It’s a belter” 5/5 The Times

“‘Council Skies’ cements his reputation as one of the best songwriters the UK has ever produced” 8/10 CLASH

“Noel hits his solo stride … soaring tunes” 8/10 Uncut Magazine

“Exactly the album Gallagher should be making to remind people how good he can be” 4/5 Album of the Month, Record Collector

“Noel turns in his best post-Oasis album” 4/5 MOJO

“A sheer amount of sonic variation … a consistently surprising listen” 4/5 Rolling Stone UK

“Lush ballads and purposeful choices” 4/5 NME

Leave a Reply