NEW SINGLE : Fatherson share new single “Dive” | New album “Normal Fears” out 25th Feb 2022 via Easy Life Records

Credit: Stewart Bryden

Today, Glaswegian three-piece Fatherson have shared a video for their new single titled “Dive”.

Recorded at RAK studios in London with producer Steph Marziano (Hayley Williams, Denai Moore, Mumford & Sons), the new single is a perfect example of the bands evolution combining their intoxicating blend of anthemic instrumentation and alt-pop with shimmering synth lines, and hook-driven vocal lines. Taking influence from artists such as HAIM, the track features Amber Run’s Joe Koegh on backing vocals, and leans into more leftfield territory in it’s middle eight section.

Speaking on the single, Leighton says, “Dive is a song about taking chances and diving into a relationship head first. You never know if it’s going to work unless you dive in with both feet. And even if it doesn’t work out you know that you gave it all you had.”

The stunning accompanying visual sees the band and members of the public mesmerised by a cult-like figure. Speaking on the video, drummer Greg Walkinshaw says: “Dive tells the story about of a cult of personality in rural Scotland. Fatherson are taken in by a charismatic and devote themselves entirely to “The King”. But be careful what you wish for, things are not always as they seem…”

The track follows the release of a poignant live session video for the track “Honest To God”, which was released at the turn of the year and featured a a highly emotive and intimate performance of the track from frontman Ross Leighton, showcasing forlorn piano lines and a truly powerful vocal performance. 

Both tracks are taken from Fatherson’s first album in three years, “Normal Fears”, which sees the band return, but not as you know them. The album (out 25th Feb via Easy Life Records) is a lush lesson in letting go. Gorgeous, groove-led singalongs steeped in electronics find the band in a playful mode, putting break-ups, old ways of working and everyday worries behind them to start afresh, sunny side up.

Pre-order the album HERE

“Normal Fears”

25th Feb 2022
Easy Life Records


1. End Of The World
2. Love For Air
3. Normal People
4. Everything
5. Do It For Yourself
6. Honest To God
7. That Feeling and the Sound
8. Dive
9. Better Friend
10. All The Time
11. 365
12. Crying Wolf
13. Wreckage in the Rubble

Follow Fatherson:


Leave a Reply