NEW SINGLE : Benjamin Francis Leftwich has released his new single, New York, taken from his forthcoming fifth album, Some Things Break





Pre-order and Pre-save Some Things Break here:

BENJAMIN FRANCIS LEFTWICH has released a brand new single, NEW YORK, taken from his forthcoming album SOME THINGS BREAK to be released on 9 February 2024 via Dirty Hit. A live video of Benjamin performing the song is available to watch now.

The song originally came from a writing session with labelmate Matty Healy from The 1975 when Ben first began writing tracks for the album. He played an early version to Healy who quickly became such a fan of the song that he asked Ben’s permission to perform it at a one-off show opening for Phoebe Bridgers in 2021. Footage of that performance went viral, and as such is one of the most anticipated tracks from Benjamin’s new album – both for fans of his and The 1975.

Of the inspiration behind the song, Benjamin explains: “New York is a song about running to big shiny cities for big shiny things. For me, it’s about missing the simple humanity and imperfections of the things one can convince themselves to run from. Every time I’ve ever chosen to chase a rainbow for a pot of gold, I’ve ended up wanting to chase the next, and I’m the last to know that I could have found what I was hoping for right where I left it. Often, the gold I imagine I will find soon reveals itself as concrete in disguise.”

New York was written by Leftwich and Joshua Finn and was produced by Jimmy Hogarth who also plays bass on the track. The new album, Some Things Break, consists of ten brand new tracks, all written and performed by Leftwich, and follows his previous album To Carry A Whale, released in 2021. It sees a subtle reinvention in Benjamin Francis Leftwich’s sound and the honesty laid bare in the album’s lyrics.


  • I’m Always Saying Sorry
  • Moon Landing Hoax
  • Break In The Weather
  • New York
  • Some Things Break
  • Spokane, Washington
  • God’s Best
  • A Love Like That
  • Only You
  • Don’t Give Up On Light

Some Things Break was written over the course of the past two years at locations across the globe including London, Nashville, Washington and Stockholm. It was produced by Grammy Award winning producer Jimmy Hogarth, who has produced for the likes of Amy Winehouse, Sia and Antony and The Johnsons. Some Things Break also features collaborations with fellow songwriters Mikky Ekko, Jamie Squire from The 1975 and Jon Green. The album was mixed by Jonathan Gilmore and mastered by Robin Schmidt.

Following the release of Some Things Break, Benjamin will embark on a full UK and Irish tour as follows:



Thu 04 LEEDS Brudenell Social Club

Fri 05 KENDAL Brewery Arts Centre

Sat 06 EDINBURGH Summerhall

Sun 07 MANCHESTER Band On The Wall

Thu 11 BRISTOL Lantern

Fri 12 LONDON Earth Theatre

Sat 13 CARDIFF Acapela Studio

Mon 15 DUBLIN Workman’s Club

Tue 16 BELFAST Limelight 2

 Tickets available from:


Benjamin Francis Leftwich is a highly acclaimed York-born singer and songwriter and was the first act to be signed by Dirty Hit Records (The 1975, Wolf Alice, Beabadoobee, Pale Waves, Bleachers). His first album, Last Smoke Before the Snowstorm, debuted in the UK Top 40 in 2011. It included the hit singles Atlas Hands and Shine and was praised by fans and critics alike for the new artist’s disarming honesty, with his lyrics lauded for their candidness and vulnerability. His arrival heralded a boom in the UK singer songwriter scene and led to Leftwich being a stalwart on radio stations and festival stages throughout the country.

Following a five year hiatus, Leftwich returned in 2016 with new album After The Rain, a critically acclaimed release dubbed as, “fragile, precious and oddly comforting” by The Guardian in their 4* review. He followed that with third album Gratitude in 2019, deemed “graceful and honest” by DIY magazine, before releasing To Carry A Whale in 2021. The record was met with further critical praise, with Clash magazine declaring Leftwich “a master at sculpting gentle soundscapes that deliver raw reflections”.

Some Things Break will be released on 9 February 2024 via Dirty Hit.






Leave a Reply