NEW EP : Louis Baker ‘Love Levitates’ due on June 18th



Pre-order ‘Love Levitates’ here

Buy ‘Love Levitates’ from Bandcamp here

Today, June 18th, New Zealand modern soul master Louis Baker releases his new EP, ‘Love Levitates’. Pre-order ‘Love Levitates’ here. Buy ‘Love Levitates’ from Bandcamp here

‘Love Levitates’ takes his signature brand of modern-soul fused with heartfelt lyrics to bright, new territory. Working with producer, songwriter and multi-instrumentalist Devin Abrams (Dallas Tamaira, Drax Project, Pacific Heights), the EP is Baker’s five-track concept of life – an intimate yet expansive journey of heritage – love, friendship, observation, and beyond.

The new EP marks the first full-length follow up to Baker’s critically acclaimed debut album ‘Open’, released in 2019. Proving his knack at crafting a killer radio hit, first single ‘Overdrivefeaturing NZ rapper/producer Kings -a sultry-pop banger about the ecstasy of new love – shot to No. 1 in New Zealand on release and has clocked over 400k Spotify streams. 

On the uplifting and deeply personal opening track, ‘Brighter Day’ featuring The KTNA sisters on backing vocals, Baker pays tribute to the triumphs and adversities faced by his grandfather Lieutenant Colonel Frederick Baker who served in the 28th Maori Battalion. 

While in ‘Love Levitates’ Baker searches for a higher consciousness; “when I was growing up, I learnt and practiced Buddhism, so I think the interconnectedness of all things has been a concept that has fascinated me and intrigued me, and one that I always seem to come back to. I think of myself as a student of life. I love learning. Absorbing. Love Levitates was driven by that energy.” 

Louis wrote ‘Won’t Forget’ in London, “it’s about giving thanks to your best friends,” he explains,  “I’m lucky to have some good people in my life who keep me honest. Through high and low, they are beside you. It’s a song to say thank you,  and to say that I will always show the same love and respect back.” 

Closing track ‘Into Your Life’, “is about being courageous enough to be yourself, taking things as they come, and going with the flow. Feeling content with who you are and where you’re going. I just hope people feel something positive through my music, that’s all I’ve ever wanted,” Baker says.

With over 25 million Spotify streams and a loyal global following, Louis Baker is undoubtedly one of the most compelling voices to emerge from New Zealand’s fertile musical landscape in recent years. After the release of his debut EP, which debuted at #3 on the New Zealand Top 40 Albums Chart, Louis teamed up with New Zealand-born, UK-based Ninja Tune signing Jordan Rakei on the track, ‘Just Want to Thank You’. The Red Bull Music Academy alumni debut album ‘Open’ was released in 2019 to international critical acclaim, with support coming from BBC 6 Music, Clash Magazine and Earmilk, among others. While back home, Louis has received prestigious nominations for Best Soul Artist and Best Māori Artist. Previous singles ‘Back On My Feet’ (2014), ‘Rainbow’ (2016), and ‘Black Crow’ (2018) have been recognised with APRA Silver Scroll nominations, the award recognises songwriting skills, sales and airplay performance by New Zealand artists. 

‘Love Levitates’ tracklisting:

  1. Brighter Day

  2. Overdrive feat. Kings

  3. Love Levitates

  4. Won’t Forget

  5. Interlude

  6. Into Your Life

Leave a Reply