NEW ALBUM : Travis announce first-ever vinyl reissue of 2003 album ’12 Memories’


Multi-BRIT Award winning band’s fourth studio album features singles
“Re-Offender”, “The Beautiful Occupation” & “Love Will Come Through”

Click here to pre-order

On August 13th, the first-ever vinyl reissue of UK top 5 album 12 Memories from Travis continues the reissue streak from the Scottish rock band. Cut at London’s Metropolis Studios & features all original packaging replication including photography by Anton Corbijn. As well as the standard black vinyl, a limited white vinyl edition will be available exclusively at Travis’ official store & Independent record shops.

None other than Sir Elton John raved that 12 Memories would “take you on a real journey… like The Beatles’ Revolver”. And, just like The Beatles in 1966, Travis were at a critical juncture when it came to recording their fourth album & the follow up to the multi-Platinum international breakthrough The Invisible Band.
Coldplay had launched a career patterned on Travis’ The Man Who-era song writing, while frontman Fran Healy was secretly battling depression. With the Iraq war newly raging in the background, the group began to look outwards in their song writing, penning socially-conscious singles like ‘Re-Offender’, which dealt with domestic abuse, and ‘The Beautiful Occupation’, which was inspired by the US invasion of Iraq. If ‘Love Will Come Through’ was more like the Travis of old, it was filtered through a darkness that defined much of 12 Memories, with the album as a whole taking on tinges of electronica, and the band rocking with a harder edge than before.

Fran Healy comments; “12 Memories was an album from a dark passage in our timeline. Neil was recovering from his near death swimming pool accident, the UK and US were about to go to war in Iraq, and I was feeling burnt out by the volume of work which the past two records had generated. This was a reaction to all this. It alienated many fair weather fans, and made many hardcore fans happy. It was also a big part of Neil’s physio. What resulted was an overall darker affair.“
12 Memories is the third vinyl reissue from Travis so far in 2021, it follows 2007’s The Boy With No Name vinyl re-release May 28th & the first ever vinyl reissue for debut album, Good Feeling released April 2nd via Craft Recordings. To celebrate the reissues’ the band are remastering their seminal promotional videos in HD, check them out here.

May 2022
10th – Cambridge, Corn Exchange 
11th – Leeds, O2 Academy 
12th – Bath, The Forum 
14th – Stoke, Victoria Hall 
15th – Birmingham, Symphony Hall 
17th – Manchester, Albert Hall 
18th – Bournemouth, O2 Academy 
20th – London, The Roundhouse 
21st – Newcastle, O2 City Hall 
22nd – Glasgow, Royal Concert Hall 
23rd – Dundee, Fat Sams

12 Memories LP Tracklist:
Side A
1. Quicksand
2. The Beautiful Occupation
3. Re-Offender
4. Peace The Fuck Out
5. How Many Hearts
6. Paperclips
Side B
1. Somewhere Else
2. Love Will Come Through
3. Mid-Life Krysis
4. Happy To Hang Around
5. Walking Down The Hill
6. Some Sad Song

Leave a Reply