Photo credit: Elly Lucas




Skerryvore have reinvented and reignited Scottish roots music with a modern alt-pop flavour that has connected with an ever-expanding multicultural global audience. But as the pandemic broke, the octet’s international touring immediately ceased. Yet from challenge came opportunity. Vocalist / guitarist Alec Dalglish had the time to develop his initial song ideas in more depth, while subsequent full band sessions in bagpiper/whistle player Scott Wood’s studio in Glasgow benefited from the freedom such an independent environment provided them. And when they returned in 2021 with ‘You & I’, the track became their first to be playlisted at Radio 2 buoyed by huge support from Jeremy Vine.

Further emboldened by the Celtic-tinged funk-rock follow-up ‘Together Again’, Skerryvore focused on broadening the core of their sound with a fresh pop immediacy and wider stylistic adventures. The result is ‘Tempus’, an album epic of melody, intimate of feeling and plugged into the roots of Scotland but blasting out to the world. Pre-order/pre-save HERE.

Alec Dalglish says, “We wanted to get the production bigger, more fully formed. We wanted to make music on a much bigger scale, to reach a lot more people. But in doing that, we also had to write and record songs that are still what make Skerryvore what we are.”

 Skerryvore exceeded that goal, which they now showcase by launching ‘Tempus’ with two new recordings. A remastered version of ‘You & I’ adds some fresh sparkle to the end-of-the-night, jump-around celebration of communion and connection that made it such a fan favourite. It’s accompanied by ‘Vancouver Island’, an urgent, charging instrumental which speaks to the band’s desire to ensure that their non-vocal tracks have the same dynamic structure as their singalong moments. It paints a picture of the mixed ambience of its location: its striking natural scenery and its rich bagpipe history, but also its surprising current levels of poverty.

Elsewhere, ‘Tempus’ is rich with the top tier musicianship that Skerryvore are renowned for, as well as an increasingly diverse musical palette. They’ve taken a rip-it-up-and-start-again approach to genre, blending anthemic highs, strident rock, stadium-ceilidh thrills and subtle dance beats into a sound that instantly transports the listener to a famously good-time Skerryvore gig. And while the record is predominantly a homegrown collection, it was completed with mastering courtesy of the 21-time Grammy Award winner Howie Weinberg (U2, Nirvana, PJ Harvey).

Skerryvore consists of eight musicians, each of which are either classically trained or have mastered their skills within the world of live trad music: founders Daniel Gillespie (accordion), his brother Martin (bagpipes), Alec Dalglish (vocals, guitar) and Fraser West (drums), along with Scott Wood (bagpipes, whistles), Craig Espie (nicknamed The Angry Fiddler), Jodie Bremaneson (bass) and Alan Scobie (piano, keys). Almost everything they’ve achieved to date – six studio albums, a live record and a ‘best of’ collection celebrating their first decade together – has been done entirely independently. But ‘Tempus’ also represents a new beginning as their first album under a new deal with Cooking Vinyl.

‘Tempus’ is now available to pre-order HERE, with ‘You & I’ and ‘Vancouver Island’ provided as instant downloads. In addition to the regular digital, CD and vinyl formats, there are a range of limited edition formats available: transparent magenta vinyl (exclusive to select UK indie stores) transparent violet vinyl (exclusive to Assai), plus a transparent blue vinyl, limited run of signed test pressings and 8 cassette variants (exclusive to the band’s new official Townsend store).

Skerryvore have also announced a UK release tour which commences in March 2023. Fans who pre-order ‘Tempus’ will receive immediate access to a ticket pre-sale which is now open and remains live until tickets go on general sale from 9am this Friday, December 2nd.  The band are currently completing a winter headline tour, please see their website for details of their remaining shows.

‘Tempus’ tracklist:

  1. ‘Eye of the Storm’
  2. ‘You & I’
  3. ‘Everything You Need’
  4. ‘Vancouver Island’
  5. ‘Another World’
  6. ‘Emergence’
  7. ‘Your Love’
  8. ‘Good Times Never Die’
  9. ‘Legends of the Sun’
  10. ‘Together Again’
  11. ‘Gun Fhios’
  12. ‘The Beasts of Bone Lake


Tour dates:

MARCH 2023

17th – Elgin Town Hall

18th – Pickaquoy Centre, Kirkwall

19th – Strathpeffer Pavilion

24th – Queen’s Hall, Dunoon

25th – Perth Concert Hall

26th – Centrestage, Kilmarnock 

MAY 2023

12th – Old Fire Station, Carlisle

13th – Gloucester, Guildhall

14th – Lighthouse, Poole

18th – Exeter Corn Exchange

19th – Carnglaze Caverns

20th – Theatre Severn, Shrewsbury

21st – Victoria Hall, Settle

Follow Skerryvore:

Website | Spotify | Apple Music | YouTube | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter

Leave a Reply