NEW ALBUM : Liam Gallagher’s new live album Knebworth 22 is out today along with a new Adidas LG2 SPZL




“An epic rendering of a Biblical concert… Immersive, electrifying and celebratory – Liam Gallagher delivers a history-making set for his new live album ‘Knebworth 22’.” 8/10 – Clash  

“Bristles with visceral power and panache.” **** – Daily Mail  

“This is one of those gigs that will live forever.” **** – The Sun  

“Really captures the raw atmosphere of the Liam Gallagher live experience.”Louder Than War 

Today sees the release of Liam Gallagher’s highly anticipated ‘Knebworth 22’ live album. Both a celebration and a souvenir of the two biggest solo shows of his career to date, the album is released alongside a live video of the closing song ‘Champagne Supernova’

‘Knebworth 22’ unfolds with an electrifying intensity, its setlist taking in Liam’s biggest solo songs, a selection of iconic Oasis anthems and a few deep cuts for good measure. Whether Liam and his band are firing on full throttle (see the early one-two of ‘Rock ‘n’ Roll Star’ and ‘Wall Of Glass’) or delivering phones-in-the-air slowburners (particularly ‘Once’ and ‘More Power’), their performance more than matches the phenomenal scale of the occasion. And the atmosphere is on fire too, from the first roar of excitement as Liam steps on-stage, to the 80,000 voices that join him for a climactic ‘Champagne Supernova’.  

In a recent conversation with Jo Whiley on Radio 2, Liam compared his two triumphant solo Knebworth shows to those famous Oasis gigs at the same location back in 1996. He commented, “It’s like a boxer when he wins his first title, it’s amazing but then when you lose it, and when you go back and win it 26 years later, I think the one that means the most is the one 26 years later.” 

The new live video of ‘Champagne Supernova’ provides a rush of nostalgia for the not-so-distant past and captures memories that will last a lifetime: from the introduction of special guest John Squire of the Stone Roses to a sea of ecstatic faces in the crowd, many of whom weren’t even born when the song was first released, and then the final dazzling firework display. Naturally Liam’s timeless vocal class and charismatic swagger makes him the star of the show, but by the end even he looks overawed by how big an occasion it was – just read his lips as he turns to step off stage. 

In addition to its digital/streaming formats, ‘Knebworth 22’ is also available HERE on CD and three differently coloured double-vinyl editions. The gatefold vinyl opens to reveal an aerial photo of the show, which demonstrates just how big an event it was. Other items to remember the occasion with include a festival flag, a live print, an art print, a souvenir ticket, a wristband, two t-shirt designs and a bottle opener. 

Liam launched ‘Knebworth 22’ – a document of his biggest ever shows – by playing one of his smallest ever gigs at KOKO earlier this week. Fans provided a rapturous welcome to the return of guitarist and Oasis legend Bonehead following his battle with cancer, and the show concluded with their take on the Jimi Hendrix classic ‘Are You Experienced?’

Today also sees the launch of the third adidas shoe collaboration between Liam and adidas Spezial founder Gary Aspden after they reunited to create a second colourway of the LG2 SPZL. Blending the timeless elegance of classic archival styles with Liam’s inimitable perspective there was always an appetite from both sides to do another colourway of this new hybrid silhouette. The LG2 SPZL was designed with Liam’s input and is loosely based on a number of different historical adidas footwear references. This latest version of the LG2 SPZL gives a nod to early colourways of the adidas Country (with a different material mix) by mixing the bottle green stripes and heel with gum outsole on a chalk white base – signed off with his inimitable portrait on the tongue. This new shoe extends the celebration of adidas heritage with Liam’s musical legacy. 

Liam has signed three pairs of the Adidas LG2 SPZL range from his personal collection which fans based in the UK can now win. Visit Liam’s official store and purchase a copy of ‘Knebworth 22’ for a chance to win the signed collectables.   

The new version of the LG2 SPZL will be on display ahead of its release at Liam’s pop-up gallery, which is located adjacent to the entrance to Café KOKO. Displaying exclusive ‘Knebworth 22’ photography from Charlie Lightening and Richard Welland Studios, the gallery proved to be a big hit with fans on the day of the KOKO show and is now back open again today from midday to 7pm. In addition to the photography, the gallery will also be selling copies of ‘Knebworth 22’ on vinyl and CD, as well as some Liam merch designs.  

Tomorrow Liam plays his only UK festival show of the summer with a headline set at Boardmasters, and he will then head to Japan for Summersonic festival dates in Tokyo and Osaka.  

‘Knebworth 22’ tracklist:

  1. ‘Hello’ 
  2. ‘Rock ‘n’ Roll Star’ 
  3. ‘Wall Of Glass’ 
  4. ‘Shockwave’ 
  5. ‘Everything’s Electric’ 
  6. ‘Roll It Over’ 
  7. ‘Slide Away’ 
  8. ‘More Power’ 
  9. ‘C’mon You Know’ 
  10. ‘The River’ 
  11. ‘Once’ 
  12. ‘Cigarettes & Alcohol’ 
  13. ‘Some Might Say’ 
  14. ‘Supersonic’ 
  15. ‘Wonderwall’ 
  16. ‘Champagne Supernova’ 

Follow Liam Gallagher: 

Twitter | Spotify | Facebook | Instagram | 

Leave a Reply