NEW ALBUM : BUFFALO TOM – announce new album

Pic credit: Kelly Davidson


Announce details of their 10th album, Jump Rope.

Out 31st May on Scrawny Records. 

Share new track, ‘New Girl Singing’.

U.K. and EU dates in the autumn.

Boston, Mass. based three-piece Buffalo Tom – Bill Janovitz, Chris Colbourn and Tom Maginnis – have announced details of their new album, Jump Rope which is released on Friday 31st May 2024 on Scrawny Records. The band have also today shared the latest track from the album, ‘New Girl Singing’, having previously released ‘Helmet’.

‘New Girl Singing’ is an ode to some of the band’s favorite female voices and influences over the years. Singer Mavis Staples, New England short story writer/poet Grace Paley, Harold and Maude, Rosemary’s Baby actress Ruth Gordon, Anna Magnani star of Pasolini’s ‘Mama Roma’, Italian novelist Elena Ferrante, Georgia politician Stacey Abrams, and New Zealand novelist Janet Frame ‘An Angel at My Table’.


The video for ‘New Girl Singing’ was inspired by Agnes Varda’s 1986 film Vagabond, illustrating the difficult journey of an unapologetic, uncompromised life.



Additionally, having recently played sold out shows in their hometown of Boston and the Bowery Ballroom in NYC, the band recently announced they will be heading to the UK/ EU in the autumn for a short tour. The full list of shows is as follows:

27.09.24 – Whelan’s – DUBLIN
28.09.24 – SWG3 Warehouse – GLASGOW
30.09.24 – Lafayette – LONDON

03.10.24 – De Roma – ANTWERP- SOLD OUT
04.10.24 – Het Bolwerk – SNEEK, NL – SOLD OUT
05.10.24 – Come As You Are Festival – EINDHOVEN
07.10.24 – Luxor – COLOGNE

Tickets for the shows are available HERE

Fans can find the latest tour dates, sign up for the mailing list, and find a new Buffalo Tom merch store where you can pre-order an exclusive edition of 500 individually numbered albums on translucent purple vinyl at


Pre-order Jump Rope HERE

The track listing of the album is as follows:

1.   Helmet
2.   New Girl Singing
3.   Autumn Letter
4.   Recipes
5.   Pine For You
6.   Come Closer
7.   Little Ghostmaker
8.   Our Poverty Mastered
9.   The Belle Of Borderline Dismay
10. Compromised
11. In The Summertime
12. Why’d You Have To Be Like That
13. Rifled Through
14. You’re On

“We had not planned on waiting six years since our last album, Quiet and Peace, but as with the rest of the world, the pandemic put a halt to our momentum,” said guitarist Bill Janovitz about the making of the album.

“Still, being locked down in our homes, with instruments and recording gear, we kept on writing, accruing a sizable backlog of song ideas, and sending each other ideas for arrangements and parts. A sort of direction made itself apparent from the ideas we were trading; most of the songs called for an acoustic, quieter production. Eventually emerging from our basements, we slowly got to actually working together on the songs in the same room, rehearsing quietly (especially for the super-loud Buffalo Tom), with an acoustic guitar.”

“When we finally were ready to start recording, we again turned to Dave Minehan at his nearby Woolly Mammoth studio.” Dave had worked with Buffalo Tom on Quiet and Peace and as a musician (Dave led the Boston legends, the Neighborhoods and played guitar with Paul Westerberg and in the reunited Replacements), brought both production and engineering expertise and a sympathetic musical ear and sensibility.

The process was done most in sessions of a few days, spread out over a year, with one or two longer stretches as they finished up. “Our days of the band being a full-time pursuit ended as the Nineties closed out. We had to schedule around jobs, family, and other grown-up stuff.”

When they were done, John Agnello, who produced and mixed Sleepy Eyed, and mixed Quiet and Peace stepped in for the final touches. “We think the project evolved beautifully and are thrilled with the results. We look forward to adding these songs alongside BT classics when we take on whatever limited touring we are able to do.”


It’s been 38 years since Bill Janovitz (vocals, guitar), Chris Colbourn (bass, vocals), and Tom Maginnis (drums) formed Buffalo Tom in the fall of 1986 in Northampton, MA while students at the University of Massachusetts in neighboring Amherst.

“We are happy to still be around and have anyone coming to see us, never mind to release our tenth long-player Jump Rope,” says guitarist Bill Janovitz.

In 1988, they released their debut album co-produced by J Mascis from Dinosaur Jr., Buffalo Tom, on SST Records. The record received critical acclaim and as the alternative rock scene exploded in the early 1990s, Buffalo Tom found themselves in the midst of a musical revolution.

Their second album, Birdbrain, released in 1990, marked a significant step forward for Buffalo Tom with the band signing with Beggars Banquet Records. Third album, Let Me Come Over, released in 1992, became their most commercially successful record to date. The album featured “Velvet Roof” and their signature song, “Taillights Fade” (covered by Pearl Jam among many others) and gained widespread popularity with the band touring North America, Europe, Australia, and New Zealand.

The band continued to impress with their 1993 album, Big Red Letter Day, which featured the singles “Soda Jerk” and “I’m Allowed” and was produced by the Robb Brothers at their famous Cherokee Studios in Hollywood,

Buffalo Tom released two more albums Sleepy Eyed (1995) and Smitten (1998) before taking a nine-year hiatus returning in 2007 with Three Easy Pieces, their seventh LP on New West Records before forming their own Scrawny Records on which they released 2011’s Skins and Quiet and Peace in 2018.


Buffalo Tom (1988), Birdbrain (1990), Let Me Come Over (1992), Big Red Letter Day (1993), Sleepy Eyed (1995), Smitten (1998), Three Easy Pieces (2007), Skins (2011), Quiet and Peace (2018), Jump Rope (2024)

Buffalo Tom information:



Leave a Reply