MOGWAI announce new album ‘AS THE LOVE CONTINUES’ – first single ‘DRY FANTASY’ is out today

Credit: Brian Sweeney


‘As The Love Continues’

 New album – due 19 February 2021

 Listen to new song ‘Dry Fantasy’ now

Mogwai today announce the release of their tenth studio album As The Love Continues, due for release on 19 February 2021 (via Rock Action Records). The album is available to pre-order and pre-save now in various formats, including digital, CD, double vinyl, a special edition box set that includes the CD, coloured double vinyl LP, special single vinyl pressing of five album demo tracks, and a photo book – there will also be a CD only version of this special edition box set available. The album was recorded earlier this year with producer Dave Fridmann and features contributions from Atticus Ross (track 8 “Midnight Flit”) and Colin Stetson (track 9 “Pat Stains”).  

 As The Love Continues will arrive 25 years on from the release of the band’s debut single ‘Tuner’/’Lower’.

Pre-order As The Love Continues here

 As The Love Continues was originally planned to be recorded in America, but the pandemic led to a relocation to Worcestershire and with producer Dave Fridmann separated by an ocean, but appearing like an Orwellian oppressor. This pandemic necessity was quickly routine – it also bought them a little more time.

Unable to perform the album for the time being,  Mogwai’s Stuart Braithwaite hopes the music can take you from somewhere different to where you are, “Unless you are somewhere really amazing and then why are you listening to some weird music like this?”

“Dry Fantasy” is the first single to be taken from the record – a celestial track centred around a reverberating synth repetition, which reaches a state of dreamlike grandeur  as guitars and bass drift in and out of the track. The track is accompanied by a video directed by Vaj.Power which draws interspersing images of blossoming flowers with the gnarled surfaces of a distant planet.

Mogwai have advanced without a plan since they were teenagers, there have been no secretive meetings to work out the masterplan. It is rare to hear a band that has been going for this long and have this many albums behind them – ten records in and still no disappointments or mistaken creative left turns.

You may know what to expect, but you will never get the same. Both transcendent and surprising, As The Love Continues shows that Mogwai are still offering solace from the mundane, supplying the soundtrack to whatever movie you are making in your head.

artwork (c) Rock Action 2020

Mogwai – As The Love Continues album tracklisting;

  1. To The Bin My Friend, Tonight We Vacate Earth
  2. Here We, Here We, Here We Go Forever
  3. Dry Fantasy
  4. Ritchie Sacramento
  5. Drive The Nail
  6. F**k Off Money
  7. Ceiling Granny
  8. Midnight Flit
  9. Pat Stains
  10. Supposedly, We Were Nightmares
  11. It’s What I Want To Do, Mum

As The Love Continues is the follow up to 2017’s Every Country’s Sun, Mogwai’s second Top 10 album in a row after 2014’s Rave Tapes. In-between, the band released a career-spanning retrospective Central Belters and collaborated with filmmaker Mark Cousins to soundtrack his documentary Atomic. Earlier this year, they released the soundtrack to the Sky Original drama ZeroZeroZero, available for its first week exclusively on a pay-what-you-can (PWYC) basis via Bandcamp, with half of proceeds going to Help Musicians and NHS charities.

Socials:  Facebook / TwitterInstagramWebsiteBandcamp

Leave a Reply