DREAM NAILS release new track ‘Vagina Police’

A battle-cry about reproductive rights
that stands in solidarity with the trans community

From their self-titled debut album, set for release 28 August

(Alcopop! Records)

Dream Nails’ drummer Lucy Katz describes rallying new track ‘Vagina Police’ as “our battle-cry against the persistent and pathetic-yet-insidious obsession of the state to police our bodies at any cost. It’s a song about reproductive rights and (in)justice in all its forms.” Bassist Mimi Jassson elaborates on the ways the establishment tries to police our bodies across the world: “From abortions being illegal, to forced sterilization of trans people. We stand in solidarity with our trans siblings in the face of the UK’s repression of trans rights.”

The track was originally released by London-based indie Everything Sucks Music but the new version, as will feature on Dream Nails’ forthcoming self-titled debut album, produced by Tarek Musa of Spring King, breathes new vigour into its intent. For the next month, 100% of Dream Nails’ Bandcamp proceeds will be split between Abortion Support Network and Mermaids

‘Dream Nails’ is set for release 28 August via innovative UK label Alcopop! in the UK and Canadian independent Dine Alone Records in North America. Pre-order bundles in the UK include an option to get your hands on customised Dream Nails roller boots. The album is a queer feminist party. It’s an intoxicating and rallying kaleidoscope of righteous rage, tongue-in-cheek commentary on modern constructs and pure riotous fun.

Dream Nails have already released a number of tracks from the record, with ‘Text Me Back (Chirpse Degree Burns)’ being named Best New Track in The Guardian Guide. Recent release ‘Jillian’, a song about coming out, body positivity & Jillian Michaels was endorsed by Jillian Michaels herself! Rage Against The Machine’s Tom Morello is also a fan and released last year’s ‘Corporate Realness’ via his own Firebrand Records. Several of Dream Nails’ recent singles have received plays on BBC Radio 1 (including as Next Wave on The Indie Show), BBC 6Music, Radio X and Kerrang! Radio. 

Connect with Dream Nails:
Facebook  |  Bandcamp  |  Instagram  |  Twitter  |  Spotify  |  iTunes

Dream Nails are: 
Vocals – Janey Starling
Guitar & backing vocals – Anya Pearson
Bass & backing vocals – Mimi Jasson
Drums & backing vocals – Lucy Katz 

Leave a Reply