CONCERT REVIEW : Skylight – King Tut’s – 9th February 2023

Four-piece Indie rockers Skylights are from Yorkshire made up of Turnbull Smith (Guitar), Rob Scarisbrick (Singer), Jonny Scarisbrick (Bass) and Myles Soley (Drums). They had sold out King Tut’s weeks before the gig. As they guys mentioned in a recent interview, it had always been their ambition to come up and sell out King Tut’s knowing the history of legends that had played there before them. The capacity crowd were in for a treat tonight as the band had promised to play the upcoming new single Rebellion live for the first time. But first to the support acts …

Singer-songwriter Cameron McPhail is a self taught musician based in Kilbirnie, North Ayrshire and he entertained the crowd with a six song set, including Behind Every Shadow and Last Orders. All his songs are heartfelt and uplifting with a clear empowering message to them. He won an open Mic competition at T In The Park in 2007 and has steadily built a repertoire of songs since then.

Next up were Arcade State, a five-piece Glasgow rock band consisting of Ciaran Murray (Vocals/Guitar), Kieran Robertson (Lead Guitar), David Daly (Bass), Scott Frank (Keyboard) and Jordan Murray (Drums). The band originally formed in 2020 and since then have been one of the up and coming bands of the Scottish music scene. They recently released a new single The Dark in January, which was on the setlist tonight and was outstanding. The band worked their way through a six song set including The Lost Boy and Splinter. They are booked to play a full set at King Tut’s on 15th April and that should be a great night judging by what we heard tonight.

There was a great buzz about the crowd during the short break, all eagerly anticipating what was coming from Skylight. The band were given a loud welcome on to stage and they kicked off with YRA (Yorkshire Republican Army) before going on to play the album What You Are in it’s entirety, with guitar heavy anthems Enemies and Outlaw being my personal favourites. There were a lot of singalong moments which the crowd lapped up. The new single Rebellion is released on 3rd March and is already a fans favourite judging by the reaction to it. The band played just short of an hour and the night ended with Darkness Falls, the 2020 single and gave the crowd one last chance to sing. Everyone left with smiles on their faces, satisfied with what they had just saw. It was The Lemon Tree in Aberdeen next for Skylights the following night. Skylights also recently announced that they would be playing on the Sunday at TRNSMT, another one to look forward to.

Skylights Track Listing:

  1. YRA Enemies  3. What You Are  4. Nothing Left To Say  5. Lifeline  6. Take Me Somewhere 7.  Rebellion  8. Britannia  9. Driving Me Away  10. Outlaw  11. Darkness Falls

Review & Photographs by Alan Brown 


Leave a Reply