WALLFLOWER Release new track ‘Passer-by’ / Video podcast ‘The Load In’ launched / Isolation Covers Series for CALM in progress

From the debut album ‘Teach Yourself To Swim’ – set for release 05 June

‘Isolation Covers’ series features versions of Coldplay and Bon Iver tracks:

Released in aid of mental health charity CALM

‘The Load In with Wallflower’ video podcast launched:

First episode features Kris from Funeral For A Friend

“It’s the sort of rock debut that doesn’t come around often enough; one made with more than a one colour palette, with songs that ache and roar.” – NME

‘Passer-by’ is a brand new track from London’s Wallflower and it’s one that shows the true depth of their palette with a slow, brooding build and electronic undercurrents. Guitarist and vocalist Vini Moreira-Yeoell says of the song “‘Passer-by’ started life as something very different and slowly morphed into whatever the hell it is now. It was actually one of the first songs we wrote when we decided that we were writing an album so there was a whole list of things we wanted to achieve and write at this point. One of our goals was to write something more electronic, industrial & experimental. There’s a Rhodes piano on there, 808s, a Bass VI having replaced one of the guitars and some spoken word parts incorporated for good measure. With all the strangeness going on in the music, we felt the lyrics had to match so it’s a little bit surreal at times. The song is all about being left behind and looking back at a period of your life realising how little impact you really had on somebody’s life, and vice versa.”

The track is the latest to be revealed from Wallflower’s forthcoming album ‘Teach Yourself To Swim’, set for release 05 June. The art of the LP is one that’s extremely important to the band and they approached their own debut full length with great care and attention to craft something extremely exciting, personal and true. ‘Teach Yourself To Swim’ undulates between more familiar tropes and unexpected twists and turns. Having already touched on themes of existentialism, aging and purpose within their music to date, here they’ve delved deeper than ever before. 

Wallflower have already released the crushing intensity that is ‘Hungry Eyes’, as well as the compelling ‘Eat Away At My Heart’, which was accompanied by an in-isolation music video. In addition to releasing these songs from their forthcoming debut album, Isolation Covers is a new series that Wallflower have begun to roll out whilst they’re holed up at home, kicking off with a cover of Bon Iver’s ‘Hey Ma’ and continuing last week with Coldplay’s ‘God Put A Smile Upon Your Face’. Their re-imagining of these tracks are available on Bandcamp with all proceeds going to mental health charity CALM during the COVID-19 pandemic. Wallflower have also just kicked off a new video podcast ‘The Load In’, the first episode of which features a chat between the band and Kris Coombs-Roberts from Funeral For A Friend. Check it out on YouTube.

Charlie Pollard – Drums/Samples
Jake Reburn – Guitar 
Sam Woolley – Guitar/Keys
Vini Moreira-Yeoell – Vocals/Guitar
Will Slane – Bass 

Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram 

Leave a Reply