TOUR NEWS : GLASS ANIMALS announce UK tour for November 2021 as single ‘Heat Waves’ climbs worldwide charts

‘Heat Waves’ continues to climb singles charts – holds No.1 spot in Australia and No.35 in Spotify Global Top 50

“They have crafted a new geography of their own…our musical landscape is plenty richer for it” DIY *****

“A hypnotic refrain of surreal pop” i Paper ****

“Their biggest statement so far” DORK ****

“Effervescent nuggets of pop gold” NME ****

“Dreamland’ is a triumph” CLASH 8/10

Glass Animals have today announced details of their UK tour in November 2021, including shows at London’s Alexandra Palace and Manchester’s O2 Victoria Warehouse. Being the first opportunity for the band to play their acclaimed new album ‘Dreamland’ to their devoted fanbase, the tour is set to be a mind-bending experience.  The band’s single ‘Heat Waves’ also continues to grow on a global scale (showing no signs of stopping), holding the No.1 spot in Australia’s singles chart for a second consecutive week and No.35 in Spotify Global Top 50.

2020 was a whirlwind for Glass Animals – the UK’s truly original and hugely-loved band who confidently set out their stall for their fervently anticipated third album with first single ‘Your Love (Déjà vu)’ in February, then set off on an impressive run of tour dates to celebrate the new music, only for the trip to be brought to an abrupt halt along with the rest of the world in March. However, being the uniquely creative types that they are, the band quickly conjured up new ways to connect with their international fanbase and bring some distraction and innovation in difficult times. They released a series of ingenious covers, built their own Open-Source website, created their very own TV network, made some jaw-droppingly inventive music videos and teamed up with huge YouTuber (2.1M subscribers) LoverFella to build a Dreamland base and surprise a fan on Minecraft – all while, crucially, inviting people into the enchanted world of ‘Dreamland’.

The story of Glass Animals’ single ‘Heat Waves’ is a truly staggering one – it was first released in June 2020 ahead of Glass Animals’ third album ‘Dreamland’ (released later that same summer) and resonated with their fans instantly, with the track started getting healthy traction at radio globally. Next came a sync placement on FIFA which opened-up a whole new audience and helped the track begin to climb charts all over the world. ‘Heat Waves’ most notably gained the No.1 on Triple J’s Hot 100 in Australia – an accolade not given to a UK band since 2009, with previous winners also including Kendrick Lamar and Billie Eilish.  A third surge in attention came more recently via an organic Minecraft affiliation with the YouTuber LoverFella. Watch back here.

Currently ‘Heat Waves’ holds the No.1 spot on the singles chart in Australia for a second consecutive week, is holding strong in Spotify’s Global Top 50 and hit its highest daily Spotify streaming peak to date last week with 1.88 million daily global plays. It has over 1.8 million global adjusted single sales and 295 million combined streams and has received over 12 million views of the video on YouTube. Glass Animals also recently hit a new Spotify monthly listener peak of 16 million, surpassing the likes of Tame Impala, Gorillaz, The 1975 and The Strokes.

‘Dreamland’ is the band’s boldest album yet – a powerful and personal story that was borne out of a time of immense confusion and uncertainty for the band – as a result, it’s an album that is very timely for the world we live in today.

Rescheduled UK tour dates;

8 November            Glasgow Barrowlands

10 November          Birmingham O2 Academy

11 November          Manchester O2 Victoria Warehouse

13 November          Brighton Centre

14 November          Portsmouth Guildhall

15 November          Nottingham Rock City

17 November          Leeds O2 Academy

18 November          Bristol O2 Academy

19 November          London Alexandra Palace

Follow Glass Animals:

Facebook | Spotify | Twitter | Instagram | Website

Leave a Reply