THE TWILIGHT SAD release surprise album ‘IT WON/T BE LIKE THIS ALL THE TIME LIVE’ today via Bandcamp – fans invited to pay what you want




Today, on what was originally to be the date of the first of two nights at Glasgow’s Barrowland Ballroom, The Twilight Sad are delighted to announce the release of It Won/t Be Like This All the Time Live: a momentous collection of live recordings captured across the band’s 2019 tours, one of the busiest years to date for a group well used to the live circuit.

Featuring cuts from across The Twilight Sad’s extensive discography, it serves as a reminder of just why they’ve become one of the UK’s most cherished acts. While it can never hope to compete with catching a show in the flesh this week, the band hope it will offer fans comfort in the present climate. They offer the following statement:

We have been talking about recording a live album for a long time. We think this is the best we’ve been playing as a live band and wanted to document that. With five albums of material we felt now was the time. 

Over the past few months we were figuring out how to release the album and then covid-19/lockdown/gig cancellations happened. We quickly decided that we would release the album digitally on a pay what you want basis. The reason behind this is that we know that financially it is a worrying time for a lot of people and for ourselves included. We wanted to make sure we could give everyone who likes our band one of our gigs live in their living room as we can’t be out in the world playing gigs right now. We wanted to make sure that anyone who wants the album can afford it as well. 

Tomorrow night we were supposed to be playing our second night at the famous Glasgow Barrowland Ballroom. We invite everyone to take part in our Twitter listening party for the live album hosted by Tim Burgess #timstwitterlisteningparty Let’s pretend we’re all at the gig together. All five of us will be taking part and sharing memories from past gigs, sharing thoughts on playing live and many other things. 

I hope everyone is doing okay. I hope this helps. 

The title of our last album It Won/t Be Like This All the Time has been living with me for the past three/four years and right now that sentiment feels stronger than ever. We’ll get through this together. 

Sending our love to you and all the health services around the world. 

James, Andy, Johnny, Brendan & Seb

The Twilight Sad 

As mentioned by the band above, fans can join Tim Burgess on Twitter tomorrow night, April 17th, at 10pm BST for a special listening party around the live album. Tweet #timstwitterlisteningparty and get involved.

The live album will appear on DSPs from May 15th but for now is available exclusively from today on Bandcamp on a pay-what-you-want basis. It’s up here:

Capping off a remarkable year for them, the band released a new AA-side single ‘Rats‘/’Public Housing‘ at the tail end of 2019, following on the heels of their much loved fifth album, IT WON’T BE LIKE THIS ALL THE TIME, on Rock Action. The 7″ of the tracks quickly sold out and has become a much sought-after release for the band, limited to 1000 copies with each hand stencilled in four different colours..

IWBLTATT was released to both critical acclaim and commercial success, marking a new high in the beloved Scottish band’s trajectory to date. A first Top 20 album for the band, it peaked at No.17 in the Official Albums Chart while coming in at No.1 in both the Vinyl Chart and the Scottish Album Chart. Press was just as exclamatory about the record with rave reviews coming in from the likes of The GuardianNMEQ, The Independent iDrowned in SoundClashDIYLoud and Quiet, and more.


The record has gone on to be named as The Skinny‘s No.1 Scottish Album of the Year, as well as placing in albums of the year lists with Rough Trade and Norman Records. 2019 also saw the band tour far and wide, from East Asia to North America – as well as more dates with their friends The Cure, including their first ever Mexican show tonight in Mexico City – culminating in their biggest two UK headline shows ever: Nov 23rd at London’s Kentish Town Forum and Nov 30th at Edinburgh’s Usher Hall – both serving as a worthy celebration of a band who’ve always put their artistic identity and music first.


1. [10 Good Reasons for Modern Drugs]
2. Shooting Dennis Hopper Shooting
3. VTr
4. Don’t Move
5. Last January
6. That Summer, At Home I Had Become the Invisible Boy
7. The Arbor
8. I/m Not Here [missing face]
9. Sunday Day13
10. There’s a Girl in the Corner
11. Seven Years of Letters
12. Auge/Maschine
13. Videograms
14. Let/s Get Lost
15. Cold Days from the Birdhouse
16. The Wrong Car
17. Keep Yourself Warm
18. And She Would Darken the Memory

Forthcoming UK Tour Dates:

July 24th-26th         Thirsk  – Deer Shed Festival
Sept 16th                Liverpool – Arts Club
Sept 18th                     Glasgow Barrowland Ballroom
Sept 19th                Glasgow Barrowland Ballroom
Oct 7th-10th             Wrexham – Focus Wales 2020