SWIM DEEP share video for new single Sail Away, Say Goodbye

Following the recent announcement of their forthcoming album Emerald Classics on October 4th through Pop Committee / Cooking Vinyl, Swim Deep today share a new track Sail Away, Say Goodbye.

Hot-on-the-heels of the Annie Mac Hottest Record-endorsed To Feel Good, Swim Deep unveil the krautrock euphoria of Sail Away, Say Goodbye – marrying the melodic sensibilities of their debut whilst venturing further into the pulsing, motorik rhythms of 2015’s Mothers long-player. Explaining its origins Frontman Austin Williams says ;“I wrote Sail Away in about three hours on a Casio keyboard. I started singing sail away and didn’t know what it meant, later realising it was a way of coping with slowly losing my grandma to dementia – the awkward struggle of losing a loved one. A long farewell of sorts.” – despite the subject matter, along with To Feel Good it’s another large dose of positivity from the ever-ebullient Williams.

Cast adrift in a small boat, the video sees the band struggling to attract attention before realising they have been holed, forcing abandonment where the lyrics embody an almost literal sense of what’s captured on film – struggle, reflection and survival…

Now a five-piece having drafted in ex-Childhood bass player Thomas Fiquet, and Cav’s fellow fashion catwalk attendee Robbie Wood (guitar) on free transfers, the band have emerged from an extended break emboldened with a collection of their most fully-fledged work to date.

Two albums, five-star reviews, times to remember, some to forget, contemporaries come and gone, Birmingham, London and beyond, football – some blue, others claret – friendships, relationships, no more so than original pair of Cav and Williams. The duo, reconvened, dusted down with a steely determination not only to succeed but to continue enjoying what has been a life-affirming rollercoaster of reality, struggle and proof that you can keep going.

Emerald Classics is available to pre-order here

Recorded on the South East Kent coast with Dave McCracken (Ian Brown, Beyoncé ) presiding over production duties and an integral part of the process and gestation of the album, perhaps as mooted by Austin “the most vital” in the making of the album.

Emerald Classics track listing

1. To Feel Good
2. 0121 Desire
3. Bruised
4. World I Share
5. Father I Pray
6. Sail Away, Say Goodbye
7. Drag Queens In Soho
8. Happy As Larrie
9. Top Of The Pops
10. Never Stop Pinching Myself

Emerald Classics – an album for dreamers and pub jukeboxes has been sanctioned for release by Pop Committee on October 4th 2019, available on all formats

October UK Tour Dates

05 BRIGHTON The Haunt
06 CARDIFF The Globe
08 BRISTOL The Exchange
10 LEICESTER O2 Academy
11 LIVERPOOL District
13 GLASGOW Stereo
14 NEWCASTLE The Cluny
15 LEEDS The Wardrobe
19 MANCHESTER Band On The Wall
20 NOTTINGHAM Bodega Social Club
21 NORWICH The Waterfront
22 CAMBRIDGE The Portland Arms
24 LONDON The Garage

Swim Deep: Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

Leave a Reply