“A sprinkling of Glasgow indie glitterati, roped in by former Soup Dragon Jim McCulloch to bring widescreen colour to his and Sheard’s faintly Pentangular, Fairport-y songs, make this a spellbinding listen.  8/10 UNCUT

 “The Making Of You is a confident, stately affair – a mix of British folk-rock and Laurel Canyon jazz-infused folk, its charms subtle but enduring. Sheard’s vocals warrant comparison with those of Sandy Denny, pure-voiced, bell-like and the perfect instrument to carry each song’s theme.”  **** SHINDIG!

 “Heartfelt soul-deep guitar-playing combined with crystalline vocals invoking Maddy Prior and Anne Briggs.

An organic audio cocoon!”  ISOBEL CAMPBELL

Anglo-Scottish duo Snowgoose will release their new album ‘The Making of You’ on Glass Modern on June 26 on DDL, CD and limited-edition orange vinyl LP. The album is preceded by the singles “Hope” and “Who Will You Choose”.

The follow-up to their critically acclaimed debut, ‘Harmony Springs’, new album ‘The Making Of You’ sees the songwriting duo of guitarist Jim McCulloch and singer Anna Sheard supported by a who’s who of Scottish pop music, including members of Belle and Sebastian, Teenage Fanclub, The Bluebells, and The Pearlfishers. Tracing a line through ‘60s West Coast psychedelia and early ‘70s folk-rock, Snowgoose have created an album that transcends its influences and assert itself as a modern and forward-thinking collection.

While their 2012 debut was largely written by former Soup Dragons guitarist Jim, the new songs see Anna step forward as a lyricist and melodist. The result of this collaboration between the pair is a record of rare beauty, one moment intimate, the next utterly exuberant.

Jim says, “When we made ‘Harmony Springs’, I brought the bulk of the material to the party, written and ready to go. This time round, we decided to write together and it soon became clear that not only is Anna a peerless singer, she is also a wonderful lyricist.

“During the writing process, I was – as usual – listening to a swirling melting pot of artists, from Spanky And Our Gang, through Fleetwood Mac, to France Gall and Jobim. Anna was pregnant during the writing and recording process and I think all of those influences – musical and personal – spill out of the speakers, adding something undefinable to the Snowgoose sound.”

Anna adds, “Jim makes songwriting look easy. There is nobody else I would rather sit beside to share ideas. He deems absolutely nothing an odd suggestion and, believe me, I made a few of those.

 “Jim offered all the support and encouragement I required to allow me the courage to begin song writing, and together we forged an unbreakable artistic connection. He is my musical kindred spirit. It’s been a long time since Snowgoose shared any music – these new songs feel ready to find their way in the world.”

Novelist Ian Rankin, who declared Snowgoose’s debut one of the best albums of 2012, says, “I was a huge fan of the first Snowgoose album and I’m equally excited by the follow-up. Such warmth and emotion, with great performances by the musicians and singer Anna Sheard. Fairport Convention, The Incredible String Band, Pentangle and more come to mind, but Snowgoose add lyricism and delicacy of their own.”

Del Amitri frontman Justin Currie adds, “Jim McCulloch and Anna Sheard, with their troupe of Scottish alternative pop royalty, have made the kind of record that saved the easy listening genre in the early Seventies. Think Sandy Denny crashing into a Jimmy Webb session armed with delicate West Coast melodies and a little bag of very modern anxiety.”


01 Everything

02 Who Will You Choose

03 Hope

04 The Making Of You

05 Counting Time

06 Golden Wing

07 Leonard

08 Deserted Forest

09 The Optimist

10 Undertow

11 Gave Up Without a Sound


Anna Sheard – vocals

Jim McCulloch (Soup Dragons/Isobel Campbell & Mark Lanegan) – guitars/vocals/melodica/percussion


Raymond McGinley (Teenage Fanclub) – guitars

Dave McGowan (Belle & Sebastian/Teenage Fanclub) – bass

Stevie Jones (Sound of Yell/El Hombre Trajeado/Arab Strap/RM Hubbert) – bass/double bass

Stuart Kidd (The Wellgreen/Euros Childs/Jonny/BMX Bandits) – drums/vocals/percussion

Chris Geddes (Belle & Sebastian) – keyboards

Ken McCluskey (The Bluebells) – harmonica

Tim Davidson (Camera Obscura/Traceyanne & Danny/Alasdair Roberts & Friends) – lap steel

Davie Scott (The Pearlfishers) – string arrangements