“finely hewn piece of songwriting, something with real depth, there’s warmth in here, too, alongside a wry sense of humour” CLASH

RALPH PELLEYMOUNTER has revealed a brand new track: ‘AWOL’ – out now on Tequila King Records (via Ditto Music).

Listen Here: https://ditto.fm/rpawol

Featuring the sumptuous backing vocals of one Eliza Shaddad, the track is an emphatic new addition to To Kill A King frontman’s growing solo repertoire and the first in a series of new releases planned for the coming months.

With lyrics littered with his typical wry sense of humour and nuance, Ralph says of his impromptu new solo release:

“AWOL is the first in a collection of three love songs I’ll be releasing throughout the rest of the year.  “The more I think about how I dislike other people the more it makes me appreciate my love for you” is not a lyric in this song but summarises the song pretty well.”

Recorded at the infamous One Eyed Jack’s studios in London, ’AWOL’ was produced, programmed and mixed by Mr B J Jackson (aka Ralph’s To Kill A King compadre Ben Jackson).

The new release arrives as Ralph prepares to embark on a solo headline tour around the UK, in which he will be playing tracks from his acclaimed 2019 solo album ‘Dead Debutante’s Ball’ and selections from his other projects.

As he travels the country, Ralph is inviting local musicians from each town to perform a live session with him on the day of the show. As Ralph explains: 

“Looking to shoot some sessions with lots of different musicians as I embark on my UK tour in October – if you’re in Southampton / Bristol / Manchester / Newcastle / Glasgow / Nottingham / Brighton / Birmingham / London and want to get involved, hit me up!”

To apply for the opportunity to play with Ralph, musicians can head to Ralph’s Facebook page to get involved: https://www.facebook.com/RPelleymounter/

Ralph Pelleymounter released his debut solo album earlier this year. Recorded by rising production talent Gethin Pearson (Kele Okereke, JAWS, Orla Gartland) in ten long days during Britain’s hottest summer in decades, and named so “because it’s a good title for someone releasing a solo album so late in their career”, Dead Debutante’s Ball  is a record that carries a similar sense of mirth and mischief throughout its fourteen songs. For Pelleymounter, the recording of the album was a joyous time, with old friends and musicians he’d worked with in the past turning up to be part of the album, one by one or in groups and bring to life the music. From Jonny Abraham (now of Public Service Broadcasting ) playing the trumpet, to Dan Smith Bastille ) on piano, Ian Dudfield on trombone (the now lead singer of Childcare and ex To Kill a King guitarist) to Joe Clark, Ralph describes it as “a real who’s who of people I know”.

‘Dead Debutante’s Ball’ talks about social anxieties and panic attacks, how not to deal with break-ups and feelings of powerlessness. There is, it must never be forgotten, a song here called The History Of Line Dancing. There are two about lobsters. But there is also brave storytelling. A deep well of emotion. Magic. It’s the clearest and most direct presentation of contemporary Britain’s most underrated songwriter to date.

Catch Ralph Pelleymounter touring ‘Dead Debutante’s Ball’ at the following UK dates this September / October:


30 September – Southampton Heartbreakers

01 October – Bristol Thekla

03 October – Manchester Night & Day

04 October – Newcastle Head Of Steam

05 October – Glasgow The Old Hairdresser’s

06 October – Nottingham Bodega

08 October – Brighton Hope & Ruin

09 October – Birmingham The Cuban Embassy

20 October – London Moth Club


Tickets for all dates are available here.


For more information:



Leave a Reply