Peel Dream Magazine – share new track ‘Emotional Devotion Creator’

latest track from their forthcoming album, ‘Agitprop Alterna’.
Released on Tough Love Records on Friday 3rd April 2020

Peel Dream Magazine have today shared Emotional Devotion Creator, the latest track to be taken from their forthcoming album Agitprop Alterna, which isreleased on Tough Love Records on Friday 3rd April 2020. 
Talking the track, Joe Stevens, musical leader of Peel Dream Magazine said:
Emotional Devotion Creator is another installment in a set of songs on the album about personal liberties and manipulation. An Emotional Devotion Creator is a marketer or brand that tries to get you to feel attached  to a product in order to get you to buy it. The song is asking, “where do you draw the line?” Does everything have to be something special? Am I supposed to buy my way through everything now?

Agitprop Alterna, their second LP pays homage to the fuzzy, mod-ish twee of acts like My Bloody Valentine and early Stereolab, but it’s also indebted to stateside bands like Yo La Tengo and Rocketship that were cut from a similar cloth. It’s part Chickfactor, part Space Age Bachelor Pad; a shambolic, drone-heavy brand of minimalism, filtered through a cross-section of classic indie pop.

Peel Dream Magazine is the musical vehicle for NYC’s Joe Stevens, who launched the band in 2018 with the critically acclaimed album Modern Meta Physic. The debut was a mysterious, liminal tribute to the hazy end of ‘90s dream-pop – a masterful mix of first-class songwriting precision and train-window sonic impressionism. Stevens played all the parts on Modern Meta Physic himself, blending live and sampled sounds into uniquely identifiable and abstractly psychedelic soundscapes. The album struck a perfect balance between DIY bedroom pop auteurism and studio wizardry, and duly found its place on numerous “Best of 2018” lists. 
Where the creation of Modern Meta Physic was a solitary pursuit, Agitprop Alterna found Stevens channelling the collaborative spirit of the band’s ever-rotating live incarnation in the studio. He worked with close friend Kelly Winrich to develop new sounds for the project, creating musical snippets that Winrich would mix into the cohering whole. Live band members like vocalist Jo-Anne Hyun (later replaced by Isabella Mingione) and drummer Brian Alvarez would stop by and work their magic on the recordings, laying down parts with trademark exactitude. The resulting music revels in its realness: heavier, more dynamic, and truly the work of a band.

Agitprop Alterna will be available on CD, DL and transparent vinyl.