NEW ALBUM : Benjamin Francis Leftwich has announced his fifth album, Some Things Break, will be released on 9 February 2024





Preorder / Presave Some Things Break:

BENJAMIN FRANCIS LEFTWICH has announced his new album SOME THINGS BREAK will be released on 9 February 2024 via Dirty Hit. The album consists of ten brand new tracks, all written and performed by Leftwich and follows his previous album To Carry A Whale, released in 2021. The first single taken from the album, Break In The Weather, is out now accompanied by a live video.

Some Things Break sees a subtle reinvention in Benjamin Francis Leftwich’s sound and the honesty laid bare in the album’s lyrics. Of this new direction, Leftwich says:

It feels like a new voice, in a way. I guess a more human and perhaps a more surrendered voice. Learning to hold onto certain things and let go of others, with as much grace as possible … I feel like I’m hiding less on this record. Ultimately I think it’s a record about a kind of slow acceptance that some things break and, for me, sometimes that necessary for healing.”

Of the single, Break In The Weather, Benjamin adds:

Break In The Weather is a song about holding onto hope for tomorrow in a wild world. It’s really a kind of surrendered prayer for the sunlight of the spirit to come out again after hurting and separation, whether that be relationally, emotionally or spiritually.”



  • I’m Always Saying Sorry
  • Moon Landing Hoax
  • Break In The Weather
  • New York
  • Some Things Break
  • Spokane, Washington
  • God’s Best
  • A Love Like That
  • Only You
  • Don’t Give Up On Light


Some Things Break was written over the course of the past two years at locations across the globe including London, Nashville, Washington and Stockholm. It was produced by Grammy Award winning producer Jimmy Hogarth, who has produced for the likes of Amy Winehouse, Sia and Antony and The Johnsons. Some Things Break also features collaborations with fellow songwriters Mikky Ekko, Jamie Squire from The 1975 and Jon Green. The album was mixed by Jonathan Gilmore and Robin Schmidt.

As well as a broader range in Leftwich’s voice, the album features a richer instrumentation compared to the more stripped back sound of his earlier work. His unmistakable acoustic guitar remains present throughout, but at times is backed with the sounds of piano, choirs, subtle drum beats and effects that help create a dense and layered soundscape for his candid and vulnerable lyrics.

Aside from his own material, Benjamin’s songwriting, co-writing and collaborations with other artists have grown and evolved hugely over the past few years. Artists he has written with recently include The 1975, Nick Mulvey, CMAT, Holly Humberstone and Rachel Chinouriri.

Benjamin Francis Leftwich is a highly acclaimed York-born singer and songwriter and the first act to be signed by Dirty Hit Records (The 1975, Wolf Alice, Beabadoobee, Pale Waves, Bleachers). His first album, Last Smoke Before the Snowstorm, debuted in the UK Top 40 in 2011. It included the hit singles Atlas Hands and Shine and was praised by fans and critics alike for the new artist’s disarming honesty, with his lyrics lauded for their candidness and vulnerability. His arrival heralded a boom in the UK singer songwriter scene and led to Leftwich being a stalwart on radio stations and festival stages throughout the UK.

Following a five year hiatus, Leftwich returned in 2016 with new album After The Rain, a critically acclaimed release dubbed as, “fragile, precious and oddly comforting” by The Guardian in their 4* review. He followed that with third album Gratitude in 2019, deemed “graceful and honest” by DIY magazine, before releasing To Carry A Whale in 2021. The record was met with further critical praise, with Clash magazine declaring Leftwich “a master at sculpting gentle soundscapes that deliver raw reflections”.

Some Things Break will be released on 9 February 2024 via Dirty Hit.






Leave a Reply