Mush share new single ‘Revising My Fee’ + Announce headline EU/UK tour dates for April

Photo Credit Sean O’Connell


Leeds outfit Mush have shared their new single ‘Revising My Fee’ and shared details of their upcoming UK and European tour. Mush’s debut album ‘3D Routine’ is released 14 February 2020 via Memphis Industries.

Full of sinewy guitar lines and gang vocals, ‘Revising My Fee’ critiques and addresses the rise of the precariat, as lead-singer Dan Hyndman explains:

“This song a gripe about work/life balance and the generational divide. Income to rent ratios. And essentially just how financially poor the younger generation tend to be currently. Lots of debt, very little home ownership prospects. Lots of patronising chatter in the media about pre-made sandwiches and ready meals bankrupting a generation out of home ownership, ignoring the backdrop of a decade of austerity: ‘meal-deal critique, aspirational creed.’ The younger generations are now told they are not go getters the way the baby boomers, largely responsible for how shit things are now, supposedly were.”

Following on from their ‘Induction Party E.P’, Leeds based Mush are circulating their own sonic mythology, blurring the lines between abstract surrealism, existentialism and social commentary. Like its predecessor ‘3D Routine’ is a sensory overload of clattering, hooky, guitar work. However, this time space emerges between the onslaughts and in this respite, room is found for new emotional depth. More expansive than ever before, ‘3D Routine’ manages to maintain the rawness of a classic debut but it’s experimentation and variety portray a band unlikely to rest on their ‘guitar band’ chops.

Songwriter Dan Hyndman explains the genesis of the band as being “fairly boiler plate” a combination of friends old and new converging in Leeds post-Uni to form a band predominantly united in their mutual affection for the Pavement back catalogue. Finally settling on a lineup of Nick Grant (bass), Tyson (guitar) and Phil Porter (drums) the band’s progression has taken them far beyond this original vision.

Having garnered local attention in the early days for their unhinged and often calamitous live shows in Leeds, it was the unlikely radio hit ‘Alternative Facts’, (clocking in at an uncompromising ten minutes) that brought the Mush to the attention of a wider audience. The song, one of the last releases for the legendary Too Pure Singles Club saw early support from Marc Riley and others on BBC 6music with them playing multiple sessions, and the follow up single, ‘Gig Economy’ hopping onto the 6music playlist. Roaming further afield from their hometown, Mush spent the first half of 2019 heading out around the UK, earning a reputation for their intense live performances, supporting the likes of Girl Band, The Lovely Eggs, Yak, Shame and Stereolab, as well as releasing the ‘Induction Party’ EP to great acclaim. At the tail end of summer of 2019 Mush headed to Leeds’ Green Mount Studio and with Andy Savours (Dream Wife, Our Girl, My Bloody Valentine) manning the mixing desk, their debut LP, ‘3D Routine’ was born.

Mush’s debut album “3D Routine” is released 14 February 2020 via Memphis Industries.

Upcoming tour dates:

18 Feb – UK Nottingham, Rough Trade
19 Feb – UK Bristol, Rough Trade
20 Feb – UK London, Rough Trade East
07 Apr – FR Paris, Supersonic
08 Apr – FR Lyon, Le Sonic
10 Apr – FR Lille, Pzzle Festival @ Le Grand Mix
12 Apr – UK Ramsgate, Ramsgate Music Hall
13 Apr – UK Brighton, The Prince Albert
14 Apr – UK London, Sebright Arms
15 Apr – UK Bristol, The Lanes
16 Apr – UK Manchester, YES
17 Apr – UK Sheffield, Picture House Social
18 Apr – UK Newcastle, The Cumberland Arms

‘3D Routine’

Memphis Industries 
14th Feb 2020

1. Revising My Fee
2. Eat The Etiquette
3. Existential Dread
4. Coronation Chicken
5. Island Mentality
6. Fruits Of The Happening
7. Hey Gammon Head
8. 3D Routine
9. Gig Economy
10. Poverty Pornography
11. No Signal In The Paddock
12. Alternative Facts

Leave a Reply