London duo ANAVAE release twisted new single ‘Human’:

From the debut album ‘45’, set for release 01 November 

Intimate live date at St Pancras Old Church on 31 October
+ three shows supporting Deaf Havana in November plotted

Anavae’s new single ‘Human’ came from a kernel of an idea guitarist and musical mastermind Jamie Finch had whilst his partner-in-music Rebecca Need-Menear was recording with Bring Me The Horizon as part of Choir Noir. “I fell in love with the idea of having a choir full of these beautiful voices singing something really dark and messed up,” explains Jamie. “The concept of wearing somebody else’s skin because you want to be more like them/”normal” was exactly what I was after and that’s what Becca came up with.” Becca explains where she was coming from with the twisted nature of the lyrics: “A series of songs on this album were written in a phase where I felt like I had lost my mind, and this was the concluder. Being in love can turn you into less of a human. Or maybe the insanity of being in love is too typically human.”

‘Human’ is another taster of the London duo’s debut album ‘45’, which will be released via A Wolf At Your Door Records on 01 November. It’s a truly genreless collection of innovative yet supremely catchy tracks that meld searing riffs and electronic nuance with arena-sized hooks. Anavae will herald the arrival of ‘45’ with a special one-off live show at St Pancras Old Church in London on All Hallows Eve – 31 October. The date is befitting of the darker undercurrents that run through parts of the record and the intimate set they’re plotting will feature live strings & a choir. Following this special headline show, the band will head out on a short run of dates as main support to Deaf Havana in November. 

Recorded over a prolonged period of short sessions with producer Peter Miles, the making of ‘45’ was a journey to say the least. Jamie and Becca came into the process with rather different ideas and approaches, classhing on occasion but ultimately creating an other-worldly collection of tracks that’s both introspective and relatable. 

Oct 31st St Pancras Old Church, London – album release show
Nov 06th Concorde 2, Brighton – w/ Deaf Havana
Nov 07th O2 Academy, Oxford – w/ Deaf Havana
Nov 08th Alexandra Palace Theatre, London – w/ Deaf Havana

1. Afraid
2. Human
3. Skeleton
4. High
5. Shy Girls
6. Not Enough
7. Never Want To Love Again
8. Hold On
9. Dirt 
10. Smile 
11. California


Facebook  | Twitter  | Instagram 

Leave a Reply