French melodic death unit TEMNEIN stream lyric video

Tales: Of Humanity and Greed album released 22nd May via Blood Blast

French melodic death metal unit TEMNEIN have released a new lyric video for the song ‘The Knotted Bag’, taken from their third full-length, Tales: Of Humanity And Greed, out 22nd May via Blood Blast.

Premiered via Metal Sucks, watch ‘The Knotted Bag’

The band told Metal Sucks: “This track is a good representation of all the different inspirations that you can hear on the album: our Melodic Death Metal roots, the atmospheric influences (mostly from Doom/Death and Post-Metal) and some progressive elements, especially on the outro. The lyrics are inspired from an ancient Asian tale for children, so we created the video as if it was drawn by a child.”

Produced by “El Mobo” (Loudblast, ETHS, The Great Old Ones, Eryn Non Dae, etc.) at Conkrete Studio in Bordeaux, France, the engrossing ten-rack offering is thematically based on various stories, myths, and legends exploring classic childhood occidental fairy tales, unsung fables from Asia and Inuit lands, pop culture universes (ie Legend Of Zelda, Majora’s Mask, Doctor Who etc.), and so much more. Each story is linked however to a common theme: the repetition of human error and avidity across time. Musically, TEMNEIN here employs shorter song structures than previous offerings adding more dynamics to their melo-death foundation. More doom/death and post-metal influences have crept into the band’s sound consequently enhancing the overall atmosphere. The records comes swathed in the stunning artwork of Vincent Fouquet (Meshuggah, Kataklysm, Moonsorrow, Kampfar, Nordjevel etc).

Tales: Of Humanity And Greed will see a physical release by the band on 22nd May with worldwide digital distribution by Blood Blast, a new service powered by Nuclear Blast and Believe Music with preorders to be unveiled in the coming weeks.


1. The Storyteller
2. The Blind And The Greedy
3. The Knotted Bag
4. I Am Davy Jones
5. Rise Of The Sontarans
6. A Few Drops Of Blood
7. City Of Gold
8. Dirge For Termina
9. Yuki Onna
10. Scums Of Hamelin

Forged in France in 2009, TEMNEIN invokes the spirits of At The Gates, Dark Tranquillity, Ghost Brigade, Insomnium, Opeth, In Mourning, and the like while remaining singular in their output. The band have released two prior full-lengths: 404 B.C. (2014) through Mighty Music and White Stained Inferno (2017) through Massacre Records both of which reaped critical accolades from various international metal outlets. Of White Stained Inferno, Decibel Magazine wrote in part, “In addition to a slew of driving, main riffs, TEMNEIN fit in fancy leads, licks and melodies, furious and rhythmic drumming and plenty of vocals.” Added The Metal Observer, “The band effortlessly combine melody and aggression, delivering a number of fantastic songs that will live long in the memory.”

Over their decade-plus time together, TEMNEIN has toured through Europe, the UK, Russia, and Japan, including support slots with the likes of At The Gates, Beyond Creation, Hate, Mors Principium Est, The Crown, Svart Crown, and many others. The band has performed a host of European festivals including Durbuy Rock Festival, HRH Fest, AalborgRock & Metal Fest, and Loud Farm Fest with more live invasions to be announced in the weeks to come.

Florian Frandidier – guitars
Julien De Giorgio – bass
Valentin Treuillier – drums
Jocelyn Fidry – vocals
Morgan Rappe – guitars


Leave a Reply