DMA’S / The Glow LP

DMA’S have revealed full details of their forthcoming third studio album, THE GLOW, released on 24 April. The album was recorded and mixed by multiple Grammy Award winner Stuart Price [The Killers, Madonna, New Order] between Westlake Studios in West Hollywood and RAK Studios in London.

The band have also revealed the beautifully dark and euphoric track, LIFE IS A GAME OF CHANGING, the second single from the album. Inspired by the early 90s rave scenes, the single is a nod to bands such as Underworld, New Order, Orbital and The Chemical Brothers and furthers the band’s incorporation of digital beats and sequencers in their songwriting process.

LIFE IS A GAME OF CHANGING is about humanity’s struggle to be adaptable, as creatures who are fundamentally resistant to change, and features unapologetically busy beats, a driving 4/4 pace and an adrenaline-fuelled chorus showcasing Tommy O’Dell’s signature euphoric vocals.


The album finds DMA’S fulfilling their potential with a collection of songs that are destined for arenas. From their emotive heart to their towering, anthemic hooks, the core traits that have earned the band a growing global following are all in place but, with the help of Stuart Price, DMA’S have elevated both sides of their sonic spectrum to new heights.

It’s a mission statement that DMA’S immediately encapsulate within the opening tracks. A swaggering mash-up of Screamadelica-era attitude, big beat dynamics and modern alt-pop flair, NEVER BEFORE instantly sets the tone. The title track then keeps that momentum firing, a rapid rush of melodic energy, joyous optimism and a new-found confidence in Tommy O’Dell’s vocals. As suggested by the recent single SILVER, DMA’S are expanding the scale of their sound with CRIMINALS introducing the biggest contrast on the record, its punchy, groove-focused hook taking flight from its restrained verses.

The Lennon-esque intro to LEARNING ALIVE soon turns itself into something unexpected, pulling on the heart-strings and scaling up the drama with a stirring string section. And yet DMA’S save the biggest surprise for last. COBRACAINE is a celebration of everything the band can be. It’s a melting pot of sounds, with an escalating wall of guitars being the foundation for a tense, almost trancelike beat with vocals filtered through harmonies and vocoders. As it hurtles towards its mesmerising conclusion, one thing is certain – this is the most fully realised of the band’s three albums to date.


  • Never Before
  • The Glow
  • Silver
  • Life Is a Game of Changing
  • Criminals
  • Strangers
  • Learning Alive
  • Hello Girlfriend
  • Appointment
  • Round & Around
  • Cobracaine


THE GLOW will be available to purchase on CD, download and heavyweight black vinyl as well as limited edition heavyweight tricolour vinyl through HMV and independent record stores. There will also be exclusive merchandise bundles with signed prints plus limited-edition heavyweight transparent green vinyl, cassette and highly limited signed test pressings when purchased through the band’s store at:

2019 saw the Sydney natives put the final touches on THE GLOW, play sold out shows across the UK and Ireland, support Liam Gallagher on his huge arena tour and sell 5,000 tickets to their London Brixton Academy show in March this year in less than 24 hours.

This year, the band will headline Manchester’s Sounds of The City at Castlefield Bowl – with 8,000 tickets selling out in less than two hours – Live at Leeds Festival, Hit the North Festival and are main support for Gerry Cinnamon at Glasgow Hampden Park. Following that the band play Truck Festival, Tramlines in Sheffield and Kendal Calling, before returning to the UK in October for their biggest London show to date at Alexandra Palace.

Full dates as follows:


Fri           01           HULL                                      Bonus Arena

Sat          02           LEEDS                                     Live at Leeds Festival

Sun         03           NEWCASTLE                          Hit the North Festival

Tue         05           SOUTHAMPTON                   O2 Guildhall

Wed       06           NORWICH                             UEA

Fri           08           DUBLIN                                  Academy [SOLD OUT]

Sat          09           DUBLIN                                  Academy



Thu         09           MANCHESTER                       Castlefield Bowl [SOLD OUT]

Sat          18           GLASGOW                             Hampden Park [SOLD OUT]


Fri           23           LONDON                               Alexandra Palace


DMA’S are Tommy O’Dell, Matt Mason and Johnny Took. The band formed in Sydney and made an immediate impression with their self-titled 2014 debut EP. Their full-length debut, HILLS END, saw them crash into Australia’s Top 10, earning three ARIA Music Award nominations for Best Group, Best Rock Album and Best Independent Release. In 2018, they became one of the first Australian bands to play the iconic MTV Unplugged session, following in the footsteps of all-time greats such as Nirvana, Oasis and R.E.M. The performance was captured in 2019’s MTV UNPLUGGED LIVE album.

Their second studio album, FOR NOW, was released in 2018, and achieved their highest UK chart position of #13, boosted by huge ongoing daytime support at radio. An impressive 40,000 tickets were sold on their headline UK tours in 2019, and they continued that ascension with main stage sets at Isle of Wight, TRNSMT and Citadel alongside huge outdoor shows with Courteeners and Noel Gallagher’s High-Flying Birds.