AZUSA (The Dillinger Escape Plan, Extol, Sea + Air members and more) announce second LP and stream new single

Loop Of Yesterdays released 10th April via Indie Recordings/Solid State Records

‘Memories Of An Old Emotion’ single streaming now

AZUSA, the avant-metal group formed of members of The Dillinger Escape PlanExtolSea + Air and more, have announced their highly-anticipated second LP, Loop Of Yesterdays, released 10th April via Indie Recordings / Solid State Records

The band have also released their first single from the record, ‘Memories Of An Old Emotion’.


In the words of drummer David Husvik“‘Memories Of An Old Emotion’ is a classic, no-BS AZUSA all-over-the-place rifforama. It’s the perfect first single for all the right and wrong reasons.”

Loop Of Yesterdays is the follow-up to 2018’s critically acclaimed Heavy Yoke. Although equally broad in scope, Loop Of Yesterdays finds the band with more to say but less to prove, achieving a more aerodynamic and accessible approach to their intricate sense of song-writing and inherently technical style. Expanding on ideas first presented on 2018’s album Heavy YokeAZUSA seek to captivate audiences with their unique blend of melodic-thrash, jazz-fusion, hardcore and early 90’s riff pop sensibilities. This is accompanied by lyrics which assertively confront coming of age struggles, like loss, grief, memories and estrangement. Bassist Liam Wilson says, “Heavy Yoke was the initial impact, Loop Of Yesterdays is the aftermath.”  

“The line “cannot lose myself in a loop of yesterdays” was inspired by an eerie dream I had and became a recurring reminder for me. I had been out of focus for a long time that I wanted to get back to reality, to the present.” says vocalist Eleni Zafiriadou
Anxious to continue where they left off, the band found themselves returning to drummer and producer-engineer David Husvik’s Hawk Studios in Oslo, Norway to record Loop Of Yesterdays, which was masterminded by long-time collaborators David Husvik and guitarist Christer Espevoll, and recorded in a series of marathon sessions that started before their previous album even left the pressing plant. The band once again called upon Nick Terry (Serena Maneesh, Kvelertak, Turbonegro) to achieve their ideal mix, a highly polished balance of punch and aggression, giving mastering engineer Jens Bogren (Opeth, At The Gates, Between The Buried And Me) a pitch he could knock out of the park. Intrigued by his ability to exist comfortably in both the jazz and metal world, the band reached out to world-class guitarist Alex Skolnick (Testament) to contribute a shredding guest solo on the track ‘Detach’. The album artwork was provided by internationally acclaimed German artist Klaus Rinke from his work titled “Um mich herum – Wasser holen, Wasser bringen, Wasser schütten”. 
Loop of Yesterdays will be released via Solid State Records in North America and Asia, and via Indie Recordings in the rest of the world on April 10th.

AZUSA are:

Liam Wilson – Bass
Eleni Zafiriadou – Vocals
Christer Espevoll – Guitars
David Husvik – Drums, keys and backing vocals


1. Memories of an Old Emotion
2. One Too Many Times
3. Detach
4. Seven Demons Mary
5. Support Becomes Resistance
6. Monument  
7. Loop of Yesterdays
8. Rapture Boy
9. Skull Chamber
10. Kill / Destroy
11. Golden Words
12. Ritual Aching 

Leave a Reply