Australian prog prodigies EBONIVORY announce new album

Photo Credit Andrew Basso

The Long Dream I released 5th June via Wild Thing Records

EBONIVORY, one of the fastest-rising acts of the blossoming Australian progressive music scene, will release their new album The Long Dream I on 5th June via Wild Thing Records.

Pre-order the record here:

Watch a teaser trailer for the album

Singer Charlie Powlett comments: “We are absolutely beaming with excitement knowing that the first instalment of our upcoming 2-part album, The Long Dream will finally see the light of day on the 5th of June. Entirely self-produced over the course of 4 years, The Long Dream became infused with self-referential hardship and internal disaster that only further serves its story. Every song presents a completely unique reimagining of what progressive music is capable of, while maintaining cohesive melodic bonds like a sequence of dreams that makes perfect sense, but only until you commit it to words. It is a twisting journey that weaves through depression and elation; past, present, and future. This album is the cornerstone of EBONIVORY. It encompasses everything we are passionate about as a band, and represents our leap of faith into the raging storm that is the modern music industry”.

Watch the video for EBONIVORY‘s previous single ‘Explosions After Dark’

Purchase and stream here:

Hailing from Ballarat in rural Victoria, Australia, Ebonivory’s The Long Dream I is the first of a two-part concept album, delivering a vision that is pure and unrestrained by musical conformity, often leaving the listener nostalgic, enraged, and paralysed within the span of seconds. Entirely self-produced, mastered by Forrester Savell (Karnivool), and led by singer Charlie Powlett’s emotionally powerful delivery, every song presents a completely unique reimagining of what progressive music is capable of. The music shifts from the punk-inspired moments of ‘Hanmer Street’ into the gritty, futuristic soundscapes of ‘Explosions After Dark’, and transcendental riffs and passages of ‘Introvection’ – all the while effortlessly maintaining cohesive melodic bonds, resembling a sequence of dreams.

The last twelve months have seen EBONIVORY rise through the progressive ranks to become a commanding live act. A whirlwind performance at Australia’s acclaimed PROGFEST, alongside international heavyweights The Ocean (Germany), Monuments (UK) and Skyharbor (India/USA) kicked off 2019 in a big way for the Victoria, Australia quintet. They then went on to support alt-rock powerhouse Dead Letter Circus and traversed the country with progressive rock juggernaut Circles for their The Winter Tour. 

The band’s singles ‘Patting the Black Dog’ and ‘Tales Of Termina’ landed coverage with PROG Magazine (UK), Triple J’s The Racket, Spotify’s Homegrown + Heavy Playlist, and Rage. EBONIVORY recently toured Australia with fellow prog-scene mates Glass Ocean and were due to head to the US and Canada in May, touring with Caligula’s Horse. This is now postponed until 2021 due to the COVID-19 outbreak.

The band’s statement: “On a bittersweet note; our North American tour with Caligula’s Horse has been postponed to January of 2021, due to the global COVID-19 crisis. Every sector of our industry is fundamentally affected, but in a time where new music is becoming crucial for morale, we’ve decided to push on with releasing this album, despite the immediate inability to perform in-person shows to support it. We’d like to sincerely thank everyone that has supported EBONIVORY thus far, and want our fans to know that we are monitoring the situation very carefully in order to organise shows at the soonest dates, without putting anyone at risk. We are still extremely excited to have the opportunity to share our music with the world!”

More information:


1 Introduction
2 Hanmer Street
3 Persist
4 Patting the Black Dog
5 Cats
6 A Colour I’m Blind To
7 Sea Sons
8 In Reverie
9 Window Man
10 Explosions After Dark
11 Tales of Termina
12 The Bluegums
13 Introvection

Leave a Reply