Alt-pop artist JULIA MARCELL releases new single and announces album

Progressive alt-pop artist Julia Marcell shares new single / video ‘The Odds’, taken from the new studio album Skull Echo coming 27th March 2020 via Long Branch Records.

Skull Echo is available for pre-order here:

Watch the video for The Odds 

Julia commented on the single: “This song ponders the incredible randomness of life, finding ourselves thrown into this world at this particular moment in time and/or at all. It asks the listener to get a little easier on themselves and others, because why not? I wrote it with someone dear in mind, who once told me they’ve had little logical argument to go on living and every day they wonder if they should. Writing the song I hoped to lift their mood a little.”

Julia Marcell’s upcoming album Skull Echo was recorded in Berlin with producer Michael Haves, drummer Thomas Fietz and bassist Thomsen Slowey Merkel. Mostly electronic, the record features a huge, cinematic sound, sweeping pop melodies and futuristic production, but the subject matter is very intimate and emotional. 

Julia about the project: “Skull Echo is a story about time, perception and loneliness. About heads in which we are trapped, building our image of the world through our senses – full of uncertain information, selectively remembered and freely transformed. It is a story of longing for another person.”

Along with music came an idea for a film. The topics discussed on the album inspired Julia to write a screenplay for a feature with the same title, which she is currently developing with film producer Natalia Grzegorzek from Koskino.


1. Cerebral Bliss
2. Nostalgic
3. Infinity Halt
4. The Odds
5. Houses of Glass
6. Which Way is Now
7. Understand Me
8. Time
9. Mother
10. Life is on television
11. Skull Echo

JULIA MARCELL is a singer-songwriter and a writer/director living between Berlin and Warsaw. Her work has been released in Poland, Germany, Austria and Switzerland and appreciated by the audiences, colleagues and tastemakers around the world. She’s won Fryderyk (Polish Grammy) for Best Alternative Album, with seven other nominations in different categories. JULIA MARCELL has also received the prestigious Paszport Polityki Award in popular music and Grzegorz Ciechowski Award. 

Her last short film Night Herald premiered at 2018’s Achtung Berlin and won Best Editing at 2nd Great Message International Film Festival in India. Currently MARCELL is developing her feature length directorial debut Skull Echo with producer Natalia Grzegorzek from Koskino.

JULIA MARCELL and her band have toured extensively across Poland and Germany, but they’ve also visited Japan, Finland, Holland, Portugal, UK and USA among other places. They’ve played SXSW, Reeperbahn Festival, CO-POP, Open’er Festival, Męskie Granie, and other festivals around the world.